Usha Martin Ltd. announces an acquisition
TL;DR
What is the total cash consideration for the slump sale of U M Cables, and what was the specific contribution of this subsidiary to Usha Martin’s consolidated revenue and EBITDA in the most recent fiscal year?
The cited BTA announcement does not state the total cash consideration for the slump sale of U M Cables. It only confirms that Usha Martin and U M Cables executed a BTA with R R Kabel on 25 September 2026 for the transfer of the business undertaking on a going-concern basis. [1]
It also does not provide U M Cables’ standalone contribution to Usha Martin’s consolidated revenue or EBITDA for the most recent fiscal year. Therefore, neither the cash consideration nor the subsidiary’s revenue/EBITDA contribution can be quantified from this disclosure.
How does the divestment of U M Cables align with Usha Martin’s current capital allocation strategy, and what percentage of the company’s consolidated net worth or total assets does this business undertaking represent?
The divestment is consistent with a portfolio-pruning strategy: Usha Martin is exiting the relatively small optical-fibre and telecom-cables business to concentrate capital and management attention on its core wire and wire-rope operations. The stated rationale is to streamline the portfolio, sharpen focus on the core business and enable more efficient deployment of capital toward long-term growth priorities.[2] The agreed slump-sale consideration is Rs 77 Crores, subject to working-capital adjustments.[2]
Scale of the divested undertaking
- Consolidated net-worth contribution: UMCL’s audited net worth was Rs 35.32 Crores as of 31 March 2026, versus Usha Martin’s consolidated net worth of Rs 3,302.08 Crores. This represents approximately 1.07% of consolidated net worth.[2]
- Revenue contribution: UMCL generated Rs 78.19 Crores of FY26 revenue from operations, equal to approximately 2.12% of Usha Martin’s consolidated revenue of Rs 3,691.06 Crores.[2]
- Total-assets contribution: The percentage of consolidated total assets represented by the undertaking is not stated in the transaction disclosure. It should not be inferred from the net-worth percentage because the asset and liability mix of UMCL may differ from that of the consolidated group.
Implication: Financially, this is a small divestment relative to Usha Martin’s consolidated scale, but strategically it removes a non-core business and releases a stated Rs 77 Crores of transaction value for more focused capital deployment. The company has not specified whether the proceeds will be directed to debt reduction, dividends, buybacks or a particular core-business project; therefore, the capital-allocation benefit is currently strategic and directional rather than tied to a disclosed use of funds.
What are the key conditions precedent (CPs) outlined in the Business Transfer Agreement (BTA) that must be satisfied before the transaction is consummated, and what is the long-stop date for the completion of this slump sale?
The key disclosed CPs are:
- Shareholder approval of U M Cables Limited: This approval was required and had been obtained before the BTA was executed on 25 September 2026. [1]
- Satisfaction of the remaining BTA conditions precedent: The regulatory disclosures refer to fulfilment of the CPs set out in the BTA but do not reproduce the detailed CP schedule. [3]
- No specific additional governmental or regulatory approval is identified in the transaction disclosure as a prerequisite for the slump sale structure. [4]
Long-stop date: The transaction was to be completed within 60 days from execution of the BTA, subject to satisfaction of the CPs. Counting 60 calendar days from 25 September 2026 gives 24 November 2026. This date is a derived calendar-date calculation from the disclosed execution date and 60-day period. [1] [3]
Accordingly, the headline completion conditions are shareholder approval plus satisfaction of the detailed BTA CPs; the public disclosure does not provide the full itemised CP list.
Sources
- [1]Usha Martin executes BTA for slump sale of U M Cables subsidiary to R R Kabel. — 2026-09-25T17:04:32, p.1
- [2]Microsoft Word - SEDisclosure24092026 — BSE India, 2026-09-24T00:00:00
- [3]Usha Martin announces Rs. 77 crore slump sale of U M Cables to R R Kabel · Business Upturn — Businessupturn, 2026-09-25T16:09:32.343233
- [4]Usha Martin sells U M Cables business to R R Kabel for ₹77 crore — Scanx, 2026-09-24T00:00:00
Keep digging