MAJOR CONTRACTS CAPEXPower

Tata Power Co. Ltd. announces a new order win

Tata Power Co. Ltd.TATAPOWER

TL;DR

Capitalized CAPEX: The total rupee CAPEX capitalized for the Jalpura–Khurja corridor is not separately disclosed in Tata Power’s 3 September 2026 commissioning announcement. The disclosure only describes the commissioned scope: a 162 CKM, 400 kV double-circuit line and a 1,000 MVA, 400/220 kV GIS substation, executed through TP Jalpura Khurja Power Transmission Ltd.

What is the total capital expenditure (CAPEX) capitalized for the Jalpura-Khurja transmission corridor, and what is the expected regulated return on equity (RoE) profile for this asset under the current tariff regulations?

Capitalized CAPEX: The total rupee CAPEX capitalized for the Jalpura–Khurja corridor is not separately disclosed in Tata Power’s 3 September 2026 commissioning announcement. The disclosure only describes the commissioned scope: a 162 CKM, 400 kV double-circuit line and a 1,000 MVA, 400/220 kV GIS substation, executed through TP Jalpura Khurja Power Transmission Ltd. [1]

Regulated RoE profile: The announcement also provides no tariff-order reference, approved equity base, or RoE parameters. Therefore, a numerical expected RoE profile—initial, post-tax, or over the asset’s tariff period—cannot be established from the cited disclosure. The asset’s transmission-charge revenue potential is mentioned directionally, but no tariff or return assumptions are quantified. [1]

The key missing inputs are the project’s approved capital cost and capitalization date, financing/equity structure, and the applicable tariff-regulation or commission-order parameters. Accordingly, any specific CAPEX or RoE number would be an unsupported estimate rather than a reported figure.

Does this corridor represent the completion of a specific phase within the company's broader NCR transmission infrastructure expansion plan, and what is the incremental transmission capacity (in MVA or circuit kilometers) added to the grid?

Yes—but only as the completion of the project’s second element, not the entire NCR expansion programme. Tata Power states that it commissioned the second element of the Jalpura–Khurja Transmission Project; the release also frames the asset as supporting the next phase of growth in NCR and Western Uttar Pradesh, so it should not be read as completion of the broader regional plan. [1] [1]

The incremental grid infrastructure is:

  • 1,000 MVA of transformation capacity through the new 400/220 kV GIS substation at Jalpura. [1]
  • 162 circuit kilometres (CKM) of 400 kV double-circuit transmission line between Khurja and Jalpura—equivalent to two circuits of approximately 81 km each. [1]

The 1,000 MVA figure is substation transformation capacity, not necessarily the line’s rated power-transfer capacity. The release reports the line addition in CKM but does not provide a separate MVA transfer rating for the corridor. Overall, Tata Power’s transmission portfolio rose to 7,900 CKM of lines operational and under execution after the commissioning. [1]

Sources

  1. [1]Tata Power Commissions Jalpura-Khurja Transmission Corridor, Strengthening NCR Infrastructure2026-09-03T10:48:14, p.2

Keep digging

What is the total capital expenditure (CAPEX) capitalized for the Jalpura-Khurja transmission corridor, and what is the expected regulated return on equity (RoE) profile for this asset under the current tariff regulations?

Ask Copilot
Logo

Unlock financial AI for your firm