The Jammu & Kashmir Bank Limited announces a leadership change
TL;DR
Which specific audit firms have been appointed as Statutory Central Auditors for FY2026-27, and what is the total audit fee remuneration approved for this engagement as disclosed in the regulatory filing?
The specific audit firms and the total approved audit-fee remuneration cannot be established from the cited records.
- The 15 June 2026 item concerns an auditor recruitment notice, not the appointment of Statutory Central Auditors or approval of their remuneration [1].
- The 15 July 2026 regulatory filing concerns the appointment of Mr. Bansi Lal Saini as Chief Vigilance Officer, not statutory auditors [2].
Accordingly, the names of the appointed firms and the total audit fee for FY2026-27 are not disclosed in the cited material.
How does the audit fee structure for the newly appointed SCAs compare to the previous fiscal year's audit expenditure, and does this represent a material variance in the bank's 'Audit Fees' line item within the 'Other Expenditure' schedule of the P&L?
No material variance can be established from the appointment disclosure. The filing confirms that four SCAs were appointed for FY2026-27 effective 18 September 2026, replacing two previous SCAs, but it does not disclose the fee payable to each new firm or the aggregate fee arrangement [3].
The key point is that four auditors versus two does not imply that audit expenditure doubled or even increased. The relevant comparison is the aggregate contracted fee for FY2026-27 against the previous fiscal year's reported “Audit Fees” expense, adjusted for any partial-year effect from the 18 September appointment date.
Accordingly, the appointment is a governance change, but there is no evidence here of a material variance in the P&L audit-fee line item. Establishing materiality requires the previous-year “Audit Fees” amount, the new SCA fee schedule or total remuneration, and the bank’s materiality benchmark.
| Item | Disclosed position | Assessment |
|---|---|---|
| New SCA structure | Four firms appointed for FY2026-27 [3] | A change in auditor count, not evidence of a fee increase |
| Previous SCA structure | Two firms ceased to be SCAs [3] | Does not establish the prior-year audit cost |
| New audit fees | Per-firm fees and aggregate fee not disclosed | No current-year estimate possible |
| Previous fiscal year's “Audit Fees” | Amount in the P&L’s “Other Expenditure” schedule not disclosed in this filing | No quantified base for comparison |
Does the appointment for FY2026-27 involve a change in the number of Statutory Central Auditors compared to the previous audit cycle, and how does the bank's current audit coverage (in terms of branches/assets covered by SCAs) compare to the regulatory requirements for banks of its size?
Yes. The FY2026-27 appointment increases the number of SCAs from two to four, a net addition of two firms. The filing names four newly appointed SCAs and records the cessation of the two prior firms, M/s J CR & Co and M/s Gupta Gupta & Associates LLP, effective 18 September 2026. [3]
Bank-size context: J&K Bank reported consolidated total assets of Rs 188,959.8 Crores for FY26. [4] This places it in a large-bank size category for purposes of applying RBI’s SCA-number and coverage framework, but the cited RBI extract only identifies the relevant sections on the number of SCAs and branch coverage; it does not reproduce the applicable asset-band thresholds or percentages. [5]
Analytical conclusion: The appointment is a clear increase in auditor capacity at the firm-count level—from two to four—and the four-firm structure is consistent with the RBI framework having a size-linked minimum number of SCAs. However, compliance with the separate coverage tests cannot be concluded: the filing does not disclose either the percentage or number of branches covered, or the percentage or amount of assets covered, by the SCAs. The appointment count alone is therefore not evidence that the branch- and asset-coverage thresholds have been met.
| Issue | FY2026-27 position | Comparison |
|---|---|---|
| Number of SCAs | 4 newly appointed firms [3] | Up from the 2 firms that ceased [3] |
| Branch coverage by SCAs | Not reported in the appointment disclosure | Cannot test against the RBI branch-coverage requirement |
| Asset coverage by SCAs | Not reported in the appointment disclosure | Cannot test against the RBI asset-coverage requirement |
Sources
- [1]JK Bank Auditor Recruitment 2026 - Apply Online — Freejobalert, 2026-06-15T00:00:00
- [2]Board Secretariat — Jkb, 2026-09-19T12:06:26.486332
- [3]Appointment of Statutory Central Auditors for FY2026-27 by Comptroller and Auditor General of India — 2026-09-19T07:01:05.150000, p.1
- [4]Total Assets
- [5]Notifications | Official Website of Reserve Bank of India — Rbi, 2026-09-19T12:07:34.546490
Keep digging