CREDIT RISK UPDATES

Vishnu Prakash R Punglia Limited sees a credit rating action

Vishnu Prakash R Punglia LimitedVPRPL

TL;DR

The CARE D rating was applied to both categories of bank facilities, not a single instrument: Fund-based long-term bank overdraft: Rs 200 Crores — rated CARE D; Issuer Not Cooperating. Non-fund-based long-term/short-term bank guarantees: Rs 760 Crores — rated CARE D / CARE D; Issuer Not Cooperating.

Which specific debt instrument or bank facility triggered the 'CARE D' rating, and does the management's clarification confirm that the delay was due to a technical or operational error rather than a systemic liquidity shortfall?

The CARE D rating was applied to both categories of bank facilities, not a single instrument:

  • Fund-based long-term bank overdraft: Rs 200 Crores — rated CARE D; Issuer Not Cooperating. [1]
  • Non-fund-based long-term/short-term bank guarantees: Rs 760 Crores — rated CARE D / CARE D; Issuer Not Cooperating. [1]

Thus, the affected facilities totalled Rs 960 Crores. CARE’s stated rationale referred generally to delays in debt servicing and poor liquidity; it did not identify one specific facility as the sole trigger. [2]

Management’s clarification does not confirm that this was merely a technical or operational error. Management said the issue arose during the transition from CARE to another rating agency: it had rejected CARE’s earlier review, stopped actively submitting information to CARE while lender formalities were completed, and asserted that debt obligations continued to be serviced on agreed terms. [3] [3]

The appropriate reading is therefore:

  • Management’s position: an administrative/mandate-transition and information-submission issue, with continued debt servicing.
  • CARE’s position: rating based on its assessment of debt-servicing delays and poor liquidity, compounded by the Issuer Not Cooperating status. [2] [2]
  • Analyst interpretation: the clarification supports a possible process or communication failure, but it does not independently establish that there was no underlying liquidity shortfall or payment delay. The two explanations remain unresolved without lender-level payment evidence or the new agency’s assessment.

Given the downgrade to CARE D, what is the total quantum of debt facilities that contain cross-default clauses, and has the company received formal notices of acceleration or covenant breaches from other lenders as of the latest filing date?

The filing does not disclose the quantum of facilities containing cross-default clauses. CARE D covers total rated facilities of Rs 960 Crores—Rs 760 Crores of bank guarantees and Rs 200 Crores of fund-based overdraft facilities—but this is the rated-facility quantum, not a stated cross-default amount. [2] The covenant annexure records the detailed covenants as “not applicable.” [4]

As of the latest filing dated 12 September 2026, the company has not disclosed receiving formal notices of acceleration or covenant breaches from other lenders. Management instead stated that it continued to service debt obligations under agreed lender terms. [3] This should be read as “no such notices reported in the filing,” rather than confirmation that no lender has issued one privately.

Based on the latest quarterly balance sheet, what is the company's current cash and cash equivalent position relative to the short-term debt repayment obligations due in the next 90 days, and has the company provided a confirmed timeline for the regularization of the defaulted account?

Liquidity coverage is extremely weak on the disclosed balance-sheet numbers, and no confirmed regularization timeline has been provided.

  • Cash and cash equivalents: Rs 0.82 Crores on the latest reported balance-sheet data [5].
  • Current borrowings: Rs 590.09 Crores [6].
  • Derived coverage: cash covers approximately 0.14% of current borrowings, equivalent to only 0.0014x coverage. The difference is approximately Rs 589.27 Crores. This comparison treats current borrowings as the relevant short-term debt pool; it is not a confirmed 90-day maturity calculation.
  • 90-day repayment schedule: the company has not disclosed a lender-wise maturity schedule or quantified the portion of current borrowings falling due within the next 90 days. Accordingly, precise 90-day cash coverage cannot be calculated. The rating disclosure identifies debt-servicing delays and describes liquidity as poor [2].

On regularization, there is no confirmed company-provided date or timetable. Management stated that it continues to service debt according to agreed lender terms and that the CARE “Issuer Not Cooperating” status arose during a transition to another rating agency [3]. However, CARE has assigned CARE D to facilities aggregating Rs 960 Crores [2], while its stated positive rating trigger is timely principal and interest servicing for at least three continuous months [2]. That is a rating criterion, not a company-confirmed regularization deadline.

Implication: the disclosed cash balance is not sufficient to cover anything close to the reported current-borrowing base without continued collections, refinancing, lender support, or capital infusion.

Sources

  1. [1]Intimation of CARE Credit Rating Downgrade to CARE D and Management Clarification2026-09-12T19:05:24, p.4
  2. [2]Intimation of CARE Credit Rating Downgrade to CARE D and Management Clarification2026-09-12T19:05:24, p.2
  3. [3]Intimation of CARE Credit Rating Downgrade to CARE D and Management Clarification2026-09-12T19:05:24, p.1
  4. [4]Intimation of CARE Credit Rating Downgrade to CARE D and Management Clarification2026-09-12T19:05:24, p.5
  5. [5]Latest Cash and Equivalents
  6. [6]Latest Current Borrowings

Keep digging

Which specific debt instrument or bank facility triggered the 'CARE D' rating, and does the management's clarification confirm that the delay was due to a technical or operational error rather than a systemic liquidity shortfall?

Ask Copilot
Logo

Unlock financial AI for your firm