UNO Minda Ltd. announces a new order win
TL;DR
Of the INR 1,100 crore approved for capacity expansion, what is the specific allocation across product segments (e.g., EV-specific components vs. legacy ICE portfolio), and which manufacturing facilities are slated for these upgrades?
The Rs 1,100 crore is not a segment-wise capacity-expansion allocation. It is a financing authorisation comprising up to Rs 600 crore of NCDs and Rs 500 crore of commercial paper [1] [2]. The Board separately approved Rs 1,415 crore of project capex across four facilities; the filings do not map the Rs 1,100 crore financing specifically to EV versus ICE projects.
Approved facility-wise capex
EV versus ICE allocation: only the Hosur project explicitly identifies EV/Powertrain applications, but it is a mixed portfolio also covering engine, structural, general and alloy-wheel products [1]. The Kharkhoda project is alloy-wheel capacity rather than an explicitly EV-specific project [3]. The Sambhajinagar project is a broad safety, sealing, interior and exterior portfolio, with no EV/ICE split disclosed [1]. The Bengaluru project’s product mix is not specified in the cited announcement [1].
Analytical implication: this is a diversified capacity programme rather than a disclosed EV-only investment. The largest identified project is the Rs 670 crore Sambhajinagar facility, followed by the Rs 510 crore Hosur casting plant; the filings do not provide a formal product-segment split between EV-specific components and the legacy ICE portfolio.
| Facility | Product scope | Approved capex | Capacity/timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kharkhoda, Haryana — AW2W division | Two-wheeler alloy wheels; includes relocation of 2.0 million units of existing Supa capacity | Rs 155 crore [3] | Incremental 1.3 million wheels p.a.; phased addition targeted by Q4 FY28 [4] |
| Hosur, Tamil Nadu — Casting Division | Engine applications, EV/Powertrain, structural and general applications, plus HPDC two-wheeler alloy wheels | Rs 510 crore [1] | Incremental 20,557 MT p.a.; phased commissioning targeted by Q4 FY28 [5] |
| Bengaluru — Uno Minda Kyoraku | Product category is not specified in the cited approval | Rs 80 crore [1] | Incremental 1.38 million units p.a.; SOP targeted for Q1 FY28 [6] |
| Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar, Maharashtra — TGSIN | Interior and exterior automotive products, airbags, hoses and body-sealing parts | Rs 670 crore [1] | Incremental 1.5 lakh units p.a.; phased SOP targeted for Q4 FY29 [7] |
How does the incremental capacity resulting from this investment align with the current capacity utilization rates reported in the latest Annual Report, and does this expansion target specific OEM order books or anticipated demand in the EV segment?
The expansion appears demand-led rather than a speculative addition to already-utilized capacity, but the disclosures do not permit a numerical capacity-utilization bridge. The latest cited material does not report the FY26 Annual Report’s plant-wise utilization rates, nor the rated annual unit capacity of the new EV powertrain facility. Therefore, incremental capacity cannot be expressed as a percentage of existing capacity or available utilization headroom.
Capacity and demand linkage
- Second EV powertrain plant: Uno Minda plans to invest Rs 550 Crores in a greenfield facility at Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar, Maharashtra, for Electric Drive Units and Dedicated Hybrid Transmission systems. Commissioning is targeted for Q2 FY28. The project is described as being backed by significant EDU and DHT orders from a key anchor customer. [14]
- EV casting facility: A separate Rs 210 Crores facility is planned to supply casting parts for EVs and is intended to meet increasing OEM demand for these components. [15]
- Broader EV programme: Management has indicated approximately Rs 1,200 Crores of EV-related capex, with expected revenue of more than Rs 2,500 Crores and potential peak revenue above Rs 3,000 Crores. This is management’s forward-looking expectation, not contracted revenue or demonstrated capacity utilization. [16]
Analyst read
The Rs 550 Crores powertrain project has stronger order visibility than a purely capacity-ahead-of-demand build because it is explicitly linked to anchor-customer EDU and DHT orders. However, the disclosure stops short of providing the customer name, order value, annual volumes, programme duration, or firm versus forecast classification. The casting investment is supported by a broader statement about rising OEM EV demand, but no specific order book is quantified.
Accordingly, the expansion is best characterized as partly order-backed and partly positioned for anticipated EV adoption. The key unresolved issue is absorption: without plant-level utilization in the Annual Report and rated capacity for the new facilities, it is not possible to determine whether the investment primarily replaces capacity constraints, supports committed programmes, or creates additional capacity ahead of demand.
Sources
- [1]Uno Minda Board Approves Major Capacity Expansions and INR 1,100 Crore Financing Plan — 2026-09-14T15:22:40.017000, p.2
- [2]Uno Minda Board Approves Major Capacity Expansions and INR 1,100 Crore Financing Plan — 2026-09-14T15:22:40.017000, p.3
- [3]Uno Minda Board Approves Major Capacity Expansions and INR 1,100 Crore Financing Plan — 2026-09-14T15:22:40.017000, p.1
- [4]Uno Minda Board Approves Major Capacity Expansions and INR 1,100 Crore Financing Plan — 2026-09-14T15:22:40.017000, p.4
- [5]Uno Minda Board Approves Major Capacity Expansions and INR 1,100 Crore Financing Plan — 2026-09-14T15:22:40.017000, p.5
- [6]Uno Minda Board Approves Major Capacity Expansions and INR 1,100 Crore Financing Plan — 2026-09-14T15:22:40.017000, p.6
- [7]Uno Minda Board Approves Major Capacity Expansions and INR 1,100 Crore Financing Plan — 2026-09-14T15:22:40.017000, p.7
- [8]Uno Minda posts record Q1 2026 revenue, stock rises - Investing.com — Investing.com, 2026-08-04T00:00:00
- [9]Uno Minda — Icicidirect, 2026-09-14T16:03:51.433704
- [10]Net Debt to EBITDA
- [11]TTM Net Debt to EBITDA
- [12]Latest Net Debt
- [13]TTM EBITDA
- [14]Uno Minda to invest Rs 550 crore in establishing second plant for EV powertrain — Newindianexpress, 2026-05-16T00:00:00
- [15]Uno Minda to invest Rs 210 cr on new facility for EV casting parts — Ptinews, 2026-06-19T00:00:00
- [16]Uno Minda Sets Ambitious Plans for EV Growth by FY27, ETAuto — Auto, 2026-05-19T00:00:00
Keep digging