MAJOR CONTRACTS CAPEXConstruction Materials

UltraTech Cement Ltd. announces a new order win

UltraTech Cement Ltd.ULTRACEMCO

TL;DR

Verdict: The disclosed structure points to an asset-light, 3PL-led OpEx model rather than UltraTech directly purchasing and capitalising the EV trucks on its balance sheet. The June 2026 deployment of 45 electric trucks followed a transport service contract between UltraTech, Energy In Motion and a logistics service provider, rather than a disclosed vehicle acquisition by UltraTech.

Is the EV fleet expansion being executed through direct capital expenditure (CapEx) on the balance sheet, or is it structured as an operating expense (OpEx) model via third-party logistics (3PL) partners, and how is this reflected in the company's current asset capitalization policy?

Verdict: The disclosed structure points to an asset-light, 3PL-led OpEx model rather than UltraTech directly purchasing and capitalising the EV trucks on its balance sheet. The June 2026 deployment of 45 electric trucks followed a transport service contract between UltraTech, Energy In Motion and a logistics service provider, rather than a disclosed vehicle acquisition by UltraTech. [1]

What this means for capitalization

  • Truck ownership: The release does not say that UltraTech owns the vehicles. The involvement of a logistics service provider and the service-contract structure suggest that the provider is responsible for deploying and operating the fleet, with UltraTech purchasing transportation capacity. This is an analyst inference from the disclosed contract structure, not an explicit accounting classification. [1]
  • Likely P&L treatment: The primary cost would therefore be expected to flow through logistics, freight or transportation operating expenses, rather than through UltraTech’s own vehicle gross block and subsequent depreciation. The precise expense line is not disclosed.
  • Balance-sheet treatment: No disclosure establishes that the 45 trucks have been recorded as UltraTech-owned property, plant and equipment. Equally, the available announcement does not provide enough detail to determine whether the arrangement contains a lease under which UltraTech controls identified vehicles and would recognise right-of-use assets and lease liabilities.
  • Possible direct CapEx: Any charging equipment, depot upgrades or site infrastructure funded and controlled by UltraTech could still be capitalised separately. The announcement does not quantify or identify such investment. [1]

Analytical read: For the specifically announced 45-truck deployment, the evidence is more consistent with outsourced logistics capacity and variable/contracted operating cost than with fleet CapEx on UltraTech’s balance sheet. However, this should not be extrapolated into a definitive group-wide capitalization conclusion: the company has not disclosed the contract economics, ownership, lease assessment, charging-infrastructure spend, or a specific EV asset-capitalisation policy in the cited material. The decisive confirmation would be a rise in vehicle-related PPE or right-of-use assets alongside lease liabilities; absent that, the announcement itself supports only the 3PL/service-contract interpretation.

How does the scale of UltraTech’s current EV fleet deployment compare to the logistics decarbonization targets disclosed by peers like Ambuja/ACC and Dalmia Bharat, specifically regarding the percentage of total fleet conversion and the timeline for achieving 'green logistics' milestones?

UltraTech is materially ahead on disclosed EV scale and near-term execution, but not yet on total-fleet conversion. Its latest quantified fleet data show 89 EVs within a 759-vehicle “green fleet” of EV, CNG and LNG trucks—an implied 11.73% EV share of the green fleet, not of the entire logistics fleet. The company has separately announced a target of 600+ electric heavy-duty trucks by December 2026, which is more than 6.7 times the FY26 EV base. [3] [4]

Analytical read

  • UltraTech has the clearest scale-up curve: it moved from initial EV deployment in 2024 to 89 EVs by FY26 and has put a dated 600+ vehicle milestone on the table for December 2026. The 45-truck northern India project appears to be a route-level deployment within the broader programme; it should not be mechanically added to the 89-vehicle fleet count. [3]
  • The 11.73% figure should not be presented as UltraTech’s total-fleet electrification rate. The disclosed denominator is its cleaner-fuel “green fleet”; the size of the full road-logistics fleet, including diesel vehicles, is not reported.
  • Ambuja/ACC are stronger on broad decarbonisation framing than on fleet-specific disclosure. Ambuja identifies modal shift and route optimisation, but gives no EV-conversion percentage or completion date. ACC’s cited material does not provide a comparable fleet metric.
  • Dalmia is less advanced on disclosed EV deployment. Its EV activity is described as trials, while the 10% figure relates to LNG. Accordingly, it is not comparable with UltraTech’s 89 operational EVs or its 600+ EV target.
  • On the requested metric—percentage of total fleet converted to EV and date of achieving green logistics—UltraTech is the only company in the cited material with a concrete, dated EV fleet milestone. Peer disclosures remain either modal-shift objectives, broader emissions targets, or pilot-stage initiatives rather than full-fleet conversion commitments.
CompanyCurrent disclosed positionFleet-conversion percentageGreen-logistics timeline
UltraTech89 EVs, 638 CNG trucks and 32 LNG trucks as of FY26; a separate 45-truck northern India deployment was announced in June 2026. [3]11.73% of the reported green fleet, derived as 89 / (638 + 32 + 89). Total logistics-fleet EV conversion is not disclosed. [3]CNG introduced in 2021, LNG in 2022 and EVs in 2024; target of 600+ EV trucks by December 2026. [5] [4]
AmbujaEVs have been introduced across dumpers, loaders and bikes; the company is targeting a higher share of lower-carbon transport modes, including rail and sea, and a 100-km reduction in lead distances through route optimisation. [6]No quantified EV share or total-fleet conversion percentage is stated.The FY2030-31 target disclosed by Ambuja relates to emissions intensity, not a dated fleet-electrification milestone. [6]
ACCThe cited ACC sustainability disclosure describes ESG reporting but does not state a standalone EV-fleet scale or conversion target. [7]No percentage disclosed.No fleet-conversion milestone date disclosed in the cited material. ACC’s broader net-zero positioning should not be treated as a logistics-fleet deadline. [8]
Dalmia BharatEV trucks remain at the test-case/trial stage, with planned scale-up; the company also cites cleaner fuels and greater rail use under green logistics. [9]A third-party Tata Motors Trucks article reports 10% of a 3,000-vehicle fleet converted to LNG. This is a low-carbon-fuel conversion figure, not an EV-conversion figure and not clearly a Dalmia-announced target. [10]No dated full-fleet EV or green-logistics completion milestone is stated. The disclosed position is experimentation and planned expansion. [9]

Sources

  1. [1]UltraTech deploys 45 electric heavy-duty trucks for clinker ...Ultratechcement, 2026-06-16T00:00:00
  2. [2]UltraTech Signs EV Prime Mover Service Deals With Tata Motors And Ashok LeylandSahi, 2026-09-02T00:00:00
  3. [3]UltraTech Deploys 45 Electric Heavy TrucksEntrepreneurindia, 2026-06-16T00:00:00
  4. [4]UltraTech to Deploy 600+ Electric Trucks by December 2026, Targeting Major CO₂ ReductionAutopunditz, 2026-09-02T00:00:00
  5. [5]UltraTech enhances sustainable growth across its footprintUltratechcement, 2026-06-05T00:00:00
  6. [6]Climate ChangeAmbujacement, 2026-09-02T08:10:39.589294
  7. [7]ACC Sustainability Reports | ESG Disclosures & Annual ReportsAcclimited, 2026-09-02T08:10:39.589298
  8. [8]Sustainability at Ambuja Cement | ESG, Climate Action & ...Ambujacement, 2026-09-02T08:10:39.589302
  9. [9]Smart Manufacturing for Strong BharatDalmiacement, 2026-01-15T00:00:00
  10. [10]How LNG Vehicles Support the Green Cement Supply ChainTrucks, 2026-03-06T00:00:00

Keep digging

Is the EV fleet expansion being executed through direct capital expenditure (CapEx) on the balance sheet, or is it structured as an operating expense (OpEx) model via third-party logistics (3PL) partners, and how is this reflected in the company's current asset capitalization policy?

Ask Copilot
Logo

Unlock financial AI for your firm