TD Power Systems Limited moves to reshape its capital structure
TL;DR
Based on the board resolution for the preferential issue, what is the specific issue price per share determined under SEBI ICDR regulations, and how does this price compare to the volume-weighted average price (VWAP) of the stock over the preceding 26 weeks?
The preferential issue price is not less than Rs 600 per equity share. Thus, Rs 600 is the minimum issue price or floor, rather than a confirmed final price, under the SEBI ICDR-compliant terms stated in the exchange approval.[1]
A quantitative comparison with the stock’s preceding 26-week VWAP cannot be made because that VWAP is not reported in the cited filing and no corresponding price series is available here. Therefore, the premium or discount of the issue price to the 26-week VWAP remains undetermined.
According to the 'Objects of the Issue' disclosed in the regulatory filing, what is the intended allocation of the proceeds, and how does this capital infusion impact the company's current net debt position or working capital requirements?
The filing available here does not disclose an “Objects of the Issue” allocation—such as debt repayment, capex, or working capital. It only records in-principle approval for a preferential issue of 1,250,000 equity shares to promoters at a minimum price of Rs 600 per share. [1]
- Minimum gross proceeds: Rs 750,000,000, or Rs 7.5 Crores, derived as 1,250,000 shares × Rs 600. The Rs 75 Crores figure would be a tenfold overstatement.
- Net debt impact: No direct reduction in net debt can be established because the filing does not state that proceeds will be used to repay borrowings, and current debt and cash balances are not disclosed in the cited material.
- Working-capital impact: The filing does not specify any allocation to inventory, receivables, vendor payments, or other working-capital needs. Therefore, no quantified reduction in working-capital funding requirements can be inferred.
- Conditional implication: Once subscribed and received, the equity proceeds would initially increase cash and shareholders’ equity. Net debt would fall by up to Rs 7.5 Crores only if the cash is retained or used to repay debt; if deployed toward capex or working capital, the immediate net-debt benefit would be smaller or absent.
- Execution caveat: The exchange approval is only an in-principle approval and is subject to statutory, regulatory, listing, and allotment-related compliance; it is not evidence that the proceeds had already been received. [2]
Accordingly, the defensible conclusion is capital-base strengthening with minimum potential gross funding of Rs 7.5 Crores, but no disclosed use-of-proceeds split and no quantifiable current net-debt or working-capital benefit yet.
What is the projected change in the promoters' aggregate shareholding percentage post-allotment, and what are the specific lock-in periods applicable to these newly issued shares under the SEBI (ICDR) Regulations?
Promoter ownership will increase by the 1,250,000 newly issued equity shares, but the exact post-allotment percentage change cannot be quantified from the approval filing alone. The required calculation is:
`Post-allotment promoter holding % = (existing promoter shares + 1,250,000) / (existing total shares + 1,250,000) × 100`
The filing confirms the proposed issue of 1,250,000 shares to promoters, but does not state the promoters’ existing aggregate shareholding or the resulting post-issue percentage. [3]
Lock-in applicable
For a cash preferential issue to promoters under Chapter V of the SEBI (ICDR) Regulations:
- Newly allotted promoter shares: locked in for 18 months from the date of trading approval.
- Promoters’ pre-preferential shareholding: locked in from the relevant date until 90 trading days from the date of trading approval, as applicable under the preferential-issue lock-in framework.
- The lock-in trigger is trading approval, not merely the date of the exchange’s in-principle approval. The exchange expressly states that in-principle approval is not listing approval and that the issue must comply with Chapter V of the SEBI (ICDR) Regulations. [1]
The exchange letter also notes that depositories may automatically release any excess lock-in applicable to pre-preferential holdings once the regulatory lock-in period expires. [4]
Sources
- [1]In-Principle Approval for Preferential Issue of Equity Shares to Promoters — 2026-09-12T15:30:48, p.2
- [2]In-Principle Approval for Preferential Issue of Equity Shares to Promoters — 2026-09-12T15:30:48, p.4
- [3]In-Principle Approval for Preferential Issue of Equity Shares to Promoters — 2026-09-12T15:30:48, p.1
- [4]In-Principle Approval for Preferential Issue of Equity Shares to Promoters — 2026-09-12T15:30:48, p.3
Keep digging