CORPORATE ANNOUNCEMENTHealthcare

Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. makes a corporate announcement

Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd.SUNPHARMA

TL;DR

Sun Pharma’s cash dividend burden increased relative to consolidated FCF over FY24–FY26: from roughly 29% of FCF in FY24 to 33% in FY25 and approximately 45% in FY26. The FY26 figure uses a mechanically derived FCF proxy because a comparable text-based FCF figure is not reported in the cited material.

What has been the trend in Sun Pharma’s dividend payout ratio relative to its consolidated Free Cash Flow (FCF) over the last three fiscal years, and how does this align with the company's stated capital allocation policy regarding R&D reinvestment versus shareholder returns?

Sun Pharma’s cash dividend burden increased relative to consolidated FCF over FY24–FY26: from roughly 29% of FCF in FY24 to 33% in FY25 and approximately 45% in FY26. The FY26 figure uses a mechanically derived FCF proxy because a comparable text-based FCF figure is not reported in the cited material.

† FY26 FCF proxy = consolidated operating cash flow of Rs 12,419.2 Crores less Rs 3,609.4 Crores of capital expenditure, derived from the cash-flow statement [6]. The FY24–FY25 presentation FCF and the FY26 proxy may not use exactly the same definition.

The earnings-based payout direction is similar, although less pronounced: cash dividends paid were approximately 26.39% of consolidated PAT in FY24, 32.96% in FY25 and 34.18% in FY26, using reported consolidated PAT and cash dividends paid [7] [8] [5]. The structured KPI field showing a 0.0% dividend payout for all three years is inconsistent with the annual reports, which show total dividends of Rs 13.50 per share in FY24 and Rs 16.00 per share in both FY25 and FY26 [9] [7] [10].

Alignment with capital allocation policy

The pattern is broadly consistent with a balanced capital-allocation policy, but not with an R&D-first policy that steadily raises reinvestment intensity:

  • Sun Pharma states that it generally invests 6–8% of global revenues in R&D and directs future investment toward differentiated products [11] [12].
  • R&D intensity was 6.7% of sales in FY24, 6.2% in FY25 and 6.1% in FY26; FY26 R&D expenditure was Rs 3,554 Crores [13] [11] [14].
  • The FY24 annual report had indicated an expectation of 8–10% of sales for FY25, so the subsequent 6.2% actual indicates that R&D intensity did not move up to that earlier stated range [15] [11].
  • At the same time, shareholder distributions remained meaningful: total dividend per share increased from Rs 13.50 in FY24 to Rs 16.00 in FY25 and was maintained at Rs 16.00 in FY26 [9] [7] [10].

Analyst read: Sun Pharma is funding R&D at a substantial, recurring level while continuing to return cash to shareholders. However, because FY26 FCF fell while dividends increased, shareholder distributions absorbed a materially larger share of internally generated cash. The evidence therefore points to balance rather than a clear prioritisation of incremental R&D over shareholder returns; the key monitorable is whether R&D intensity rises as the innovative-medicines pipeline and acquisition-related opportunities expand.

Fiscal yearConsolidated FCFCash dividends paidDividend paid / FCF
FY24Rs 9,930 Crores, company-reported [1]Rs 2,898.2 Crores [2]29.19%, derived
FY25Rs 11,020 Crores, company-reported [3]Rs 3,614.0 Crores [4]32.79%, derived
FY26Rs 8,809.8 Crores†Rs 3,933.9 Crores [5]44.66%, derived

How does Sun Pharma’s dividend yield and payout ratio compare to its large-cap peers (e.g., Dr. Reddy’s, Cipla) over the last three fiscal years, specifically considering the variance in capital expenditure requirements for their respective specialty and generic portfolios?

Sun Pharma has had the highest normalized dividend payout of the three over FY24–FY26, despite a growing specialty/Innovative Medicines investment burden. Its dividend yield cannot be ranked precisely for each year because fiscal year-end share prices are not included in the cited records; the relevant dividend-per-share history is available.

Dividend record: FY24–FY26

Notes:

  • **Payout is normalized as dividend attributable to the fiscal year divided by consolidated PAT. For Dr. Reddy’s, the annual report directly reports payout ratios based on DPS/EPS; its separately disclosed cash-profit payout was 8.80% in FY25 and 10.20% in FY26 [18] [19].
  • † Sun ratios are derived from dividend amounts and consolidated PAT: FY24 dividend of Rs 3,138.10 Crores and PAT of Rs 9,648.44 Crores [16] [7]; FY25 dividend of Rs 3,733.93 Crores and PAT of Rs 10,980.10 Crores [16] [7]; FY26 dividend of Rs 3,813.94 Crores and PAT of Rs 11,508.60 Crores [10] [8].
  • ‡ Cipla ratios are derived from reported dividend amounts and consolidated PAT: FY24 [20] [21], FY25 [21] [22], and FY26 [22] [22]. Cipla’s reported standalone payout ratios were 25.05% in FY25 and 29.87% in FY26 [21] [22].

Dividend yield

The fiscal-year dividend yield is calculated as dividend per share divided by the relevant year-end share price. Because the cited records do not include FY24, FY25 and FY26 year-end closing prices for all three companies, a like-for-like historical yield comparison cannot be calculated without introducing an unsupported price series.

The dividend-per-share pattern nevertheless shows the distinction:**

  • Sun Pharma: Rs 13.50 in FY24, then Rs 16.00 in both FY25 and FY26.
  • Dr. Reddy’s: Rs 8.00 in each of the three years.
  • Cipla: Rs 13.00 in FY24, Rs 16.00 in FY25—including a Rs 3.00 special dividend—and Rs 13.00 in FY26 [21] [22].

Cipla’s FY25 payout and yield would therefore be inflated by the special dividend, while Sun’s FY25–FY26 distribution was more consistent.

Capex intensity and portfolio mix

The pattern is important:

  • Sun Pharma’s payout is structurally higher, at roughly 33–34% of consolidated PAT, even as capex intensity increased from 4.00% to 6.20%. This suggests that its specialty-led earnings and cash generation have so far supported both reinvestment and a relatively generous distribution policy. It does not mean specialty investment requirements are low: management explicitly identifies high upfront specialty-pipeline investment as a potential short-term profitability burden [32].
  • Dr. Reddy’s retained more earnings, with reported payout ratios of approximately 12–16%. Its FY25 capex intensity was the highest of the group at 8.40%, consistent with a more manufacturing- and capacity-oriented investment profile, although the company also uses partnerships and licensing to maintain capital discipline [27] [27].
  • Cipla sits between the two on payout, rising from approximately 16.65% to 27.07% on a consolidated basis. Its FY25 ratio was boosted by the one-time anniversary dividend, while FY26 normalised to Rs 13 per share. Capex intensity rose to 5.70% as it invested in differentiated generics, respiratory assets and complex injectables [30] [31].

Analytical conclusion: Sun Pharma’s higher payout is not explained by lower investment needs. Rather, it reflects a combination of stronger current earnings, a specialty portfolio with higher-value products, and a willingness to distribute a larger share of profits. Dr. Reddy’s has maintained the lowest payout while funding a comparatively more capital-intensive generic and manufacturing expansion cycle. Cipla’s payout has been rising toward Sun’s level, but its FY25 comparison is distorted by the special dividend and its portfolio investment is increasingly shifting from conventional generics toward complex products.*

CompanyFY24 dividend per shareFY24 payout*FY25 dividend per shareFY25 payout*FY26 dividend per shareFY26 payout*
Sun PharmaRs 13.50 [16]32.52%†Rs 16.00 [7]34.01%†Rs 16.00 [10]33.14%†
Dr. Reddy’sRs 8.00 [17]12.00% [17]Rs 8.00 [18]12.00% [17]Rs 8.00 [19]16.00% [17]
CiplaRs 13.00 [20]16.65%‡Rs 16.00 [21]24.51%‡Rs 13.00 [22]27.07%‡
CompanyFY25 capex/revenueFY26 capex/revenuePortfolio and capital implication
Sun Pharma4.00% [23]6.20% [23]Innovative Medicines were 22% of FY26 consolidated sales; specialty development involves clinical, commercial and manufacturing investment [24] [25].
Dr. Reddy’s8.40% [26]6.90% [26]Global Generics represented 89% of FY26 revenue, while the company was also expanding manufacturing, biosimilars and CDMO capabilities [27] [28].
Cipla4.20% [29]5.70% [29]Capex is being directed toward 505(b)(2) assets, injectables, peptides and respiratory manufacturing capabilities [30] [31].

Based on the latest Annual Report, what specific financial metrics (e.g., net profit, cash reserves, or debt-to-equity ratios) does the Board prioritize when determining the annual dividend declaration, and has there been any deviation from this policy in the most recent fiscal year?

Verdict: The FY26 Annual Report does not disclose a formula linking dividends to a specific net-profit payout ratio, minimum cash balance, or debt-to-equity ceiling. The Board’s explicit framework is broader: preserve going-concern capacity, provide an adequate shareholder return, and optimise the debt–equity mix. [33]

What the Board explicitly monitors

  • Capital structure and leverage: The Group monitors capital using the carrying amount of debt and seeks an “optimum overall financial structure.” The consolidated debt-to-total-equity ratio increased to 0.06 in FY26 from 0.03 in FY25. [33]
  • Ability to remain a going concern: This is stated as a core capital-management objective alongside shareholder returns. [33]
  • Shareholder return: The stated objective is to provide an adequate return through optimisation of debt and equity, rather than through a disclosed fixed payout formula. [33]
  • Retention of resources: The Board did not propose a transfer of profits to reserves and said retaining resources was appropriate for operational and strategic requirements. This supports a capital-allocation judgement, but the report does not quantify it as a cash-reserve threshold. [34]
  • Net profit and cash reserves: The Annual Report refers shareholders to a separate Dividend Distribution Policy, but the dividend-related disclosures do not specify a net-profit payout band, free-cash-flow test, minimum cash reserve, or maximum leverage threshold. [10]

FY26 outcome versus policy

There is no reported deviation from policy. The Annual Report explicitly states that the FY26 dividend payout was in accordance with the Company’s Dividend Distribution Policy. [10]

The Board recommended:

  • Final dividend: Rs 5.00 per share for FY26, versus Rs 5.50 for FY25; estimated cash outflow was approximately Rs 1,199.67 Crores. [10]
  • Total dividend: Rs 16.00 per share for FY26, unchanged from FY25. [10]

Thus, the final-dividend component declined, but the total annual payout was maintained despite the consolidated debt-to-equity ratio rising to 0.06. That is not evidence of a policy breach; it indicates that the Board retained discretion within its broader capital-management framework. The proposed final dividend remained subject to shareholder approval and was therefore not recognised as a liability at 31 March 2026. [35]

Analytical limitation: The report supports a conclusion of declared compliance, but not an independent test against precise net-profit, cash-reserve, or leverage thresholds because those quantitative triggers are not reproduced in the Annual Report.

Sources

  1. [1]Sun Pharma Investor Presentation: Q1 FY25 Financials, Business Operations & Strategic Highlights2024-09-30T17:31:30, p.51
  2. [2]Sun Pharma FY24 Annual Report: Strong Specialty Growth, Increased R&D, and Positive FY25 Outlook.2024-07-08T15:36:58, p.221
  3. [3]Sun Pharma FY25 Investor Presentation: Strong Growth, Profitability, and Strategic Focus2025-07-14T18:48:59, p.51
  4. [4]Sun Pharma Annual Report 2024-25: Strong Growth, Strategic Acquisitions, and FY26 Outlook2025-07-04T17:50:19, p.230
  5. [5]Sun Pharma Annual Report FY26: Strong Performance, Innovative Medicines Growth, and Organon Acquisition2026-07-06T13:34:18.533000, p.247
  6. [6]Sun Pharma Annual Report FY26: Strong Performance, Innovative Medicines Growth, and Organon Acquisition2026-07-06T13:34:18.533000, p.246
  7. [7]Sun Pharma Annual Report 2024-25: Strong Growth, Strategic Acquisitions, and FY26 Outlook2025-07-04T17:50:19, p.41
  8. [8]PAT
  9. [9]Sun Pharma FY24 Annual Report: Strong Specialty Growth, Increased R&D, and Positive FY25 Outlook.2024-07-08T15:36:58, p.39
  10. [10]Sun Pharma Annual Report FY26: Strong Performance, Innovative Medicines Growth, and Organon Acquisition2026-07-06T13:34:18.533000, p.50
  11. [11]Sun Pharma Annual Report 2024-25: Strong Growth, Strategic Acquisitions, and FY26 Outlook2025-07-04T17:50:19, p.6
  12. [12]Sun Pharma Annual Report 2024-25: Strong Growth, Strategic Acquisitions, and FY26 Outlook2025-07-04T17:50:19, p.29
  13. [13]Sun Pharma FY24 Annual Report: Strong Specialty Growth, Increased R&D, and Positive FY25 Outlook.2024-07-08T15:36:58, p.35
  14. [14]Sun Pharma Annual Report FY26: Strong Performance, Innovative Medicines Growth, and Organon Acquisition2026-07-06T13:34:18.533000, p.45
  15. [15]Sun Pharma FY24 Annual Report: Strong Specialty Growth, Increased R&D, and Positive FY25 Outlook.2024-07-08T15:36:58, p.12
  16. [16]Sun Pharma Annual Report 2024-25: Strong Growth, Strategic Acquisitions, and FY26 Outlook2025-07-04T17:50:19, p.191
  17. [17]Integrated Annual Report FY 2025-26 Submission and FY2026 Performance Summary2026-06-30T13:42:13.617000, p.63
  18. [18]Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Ltd. Integrated Annual Report FY2024-25: Double-Digit Growth, Strategic Acquisitions, and ESG Progress2025-06-30T16:22:43, p.50
  19. [19]Integrated Annual Report FY 2025-26 Submission and FY2026 Performance Summary2026-06-30T13:42:13.617000, p.64
  20. [20]Cipla's 89th AGM Notice: FY25 Financials Adoption, INR 16/Share Dividend, Director Re-appointment, and Auditor Ratification2025-06-19T21:10:25, p.332
  21. [21]Cipla's 89th AGM Notice: FY25 Financials Adoption, INR 16/Share Dividend, Director Re-appointment, and Auditor Ratification2025-06-19T21:10:25, p.163
  22. [22]Cipla Ltd. 90th AGM Notice and Integrated Annual Report for FY 2025-26 with Dividend Declaration2026-06-01T17:58:19.960000, p.162
  23. [23]TTM Capex to Revenue
  24. [24]Sun Pharma Annual Report FY26: Strong Performance, Innovative Medicines Growth, and Organon Acquisition2026-07-06T13:34:18.533000, p.10
  25. [25]Sun Pharma Annual Report FY26: Strong Performance, Innovative Medicines Growth, and Organon Acquisition2026-07-06T13:34:18.533000, p.32
  26. [26]TTM Capex to Revenue
  27. [27]Integrated Annual Report FY 2025-26 Submission and FY2026 Performance Summary2026-06-30T13:42:13.617000, p.54
  28. [28]Integrated Annual Report FY 2025-26 Submission and FY2026 Performance Summary2026-06-30T13:42:13.617000, p.51
  29. [29]TTM Capex to Revenue
  30. [30]Notice of 90th Annual General Meeting and Integrated Annual Report for FY 2025-262026-06-01T18:03:56.300000, p.47
  31. [31]Cipla Ltd. 90th AGM Notice and Integrated Annual Report for FY 2025-26 with Dividend Declaration2026-06-01T17:58:19.960000, p.156
  32. [32]Sun Pharma Annual Report 2024-25: Strong Growth, Strategic Acquisitions, and FY26 Outlook2025-07-04T17:50:19, p.39
  33. [33]Sun Pharma Annual Report FY26: Strong Performance, Innovative Medicines Growth, and Organon Acquisition2026-07-06T13:34:18.533000, p.294
  34. [34]Sun Pharma Annual Report FY26: Strong Performance, Innovative Medicines Growth, and Organon Acquisition2026-07-06T13:34:18.533000, p.52
  35. [35]Sun Pharma Annual Report FY26: Strong Performance, Innovative Medicines Growth, and Organon Acquisition2026-07-06T13:34:18.533000, p.295

Keep digging

What has been the trend in Sun Pharma’s dividend payout ratio relative to its consolidated Free Cash Flow (FCF) over the last three fiscal years, and how does this align with the company's stated capital allocation policy regarding R&D reinvestment versus shareholder returns?

Ask Copilot
Logo

Unlock financial AI for your firm