MAJOR CONTRACTS CAPEXConstruction

Solarworld Energy Solutions Limited announces a new order win

Solarworld Energy Solutions LimitedSOLARWORLD

TL;DR

The total estimated project cost for the 2.4 GW Solar PV cell manufacturing facility is Rs 1,000 Crores (Rs 10,000 million). The equity commitment is structured equally between the JV partners: Solarworld Energy Solutions Limited: up to Rs 100 Crores in equity.

What is the total project cost for the 2.4 GW Solar PV Cell manufacturing facility, and what is the specific equity contribution commitment from Solarworld Energy Solutions Limited versus the JV partner?

The total estimated project cost for the 2.4 GW Solar PV cell manufacturing facility is Rs 1,000 Crores (Rs 10,000 million). [1]

The equity commitment is structured equally between the JV partners:

  • Solarworld Energy Solutions Limited: up to Rs 100 Crores in equity.
  • Rays Power Infra Private Limited: up to Rs 100 Crores in equity.

Thus, the JV’s total committed equity is up to Rs 200 Crores, with a 50:50 contribution split. Solarworld is additionally committed to extend a loan of up to Rs 320 Crores to the JV, which is separate from its equity contribution. [2]

Regarding the variation in IPO proceeds utilization, what is the exact quantum of funds being diverted from the original objects, and has the company filed the requisite Special Resolution details to seek shareholder approval for this change in deployment?

The exact amount proposed to be diverted is Rs 420 crore (Rs 4,200 million). This represents the entire unutilised net IPO proceeds earmarked for the original Pandhurana 1.2 GW project, which had recorded nil utilisation as of June 30, 2026. The funds are proposed to be redirected to investment in Rays Green for the new 2.4 GW solar PV cell project. [3] [4]

Special Resolution status: No, the requisite Special Resolution details had not yet been filed in the disclosure under review. The Board approved the proposed variation, but the filing states that the detailed explanatory statement would be provided with the Notice of the 13th AGM, and that the AGM notice and annual report would be submitted to the stock exchanges in due course. [5] [6] [1]

Accordingly, the Rs 420 crore reallocation remains subject to shareholder approval; the Board’s approval is not the final authorization for the change in IPO-object deployment.

How does the capital intensity (Capex per GW) of this 2.4 GW JV compare to the company's existing manufacturing facilities and average industry benchmarks for PV cell production, and to what extent does this JV rely on the diverted IPO proceeds versus new debt?

Verdict: The 2.4 GW JV is materially less capital-intensive than Solarworld’s earlier 1.2 GW Pandhurana project on the company’s disclosed estimates: approximately Rs 416.67 Crores per GW versus Rs 479.42 Crores per GW, a 13.09% reduction. However, the comparison is against a prior planned project, not an operating facility, and a numeric industry-average benchmark for PV cell capex per GW is not reported in the cited material.

Capex intensity

The reduction is consistent with the company’s stated rationale of scale benefits, but the estimates are not perfectly like-for-like: the earlier figure came from the IPO prospectus, while the new project estimate is based on vendor quotations and includes assumptions for imported equipment, freight and an exchange rate of Rs 94.47 per USD [1]. The earlier Pandhurana project had also recorded zero utilization of the earmarked Rs 420 Crores as of June 30, 2026, so it should not be described as an existing operating manufacturing facility [3]. Separate capex and capacity figures for Solarworld’s currently operating manufacturing assets are not disclosed in the cited filings.

IPO proceeds versus debt-like funding

The diverted amount is Rs 420 Crores, representing 42.00% of the Rs 1,000 Crores total project cost. The company’s stated commitment to the JV is also up to Rs 420 Crores, comprising:

  • Up to Rs 100 Crores of equity subscription in Rays Green.
  • Up to Rs 320 Crores as a loan to Rays Green for project funding [8].

Accordingly, the diverted IPO/Pre-IPO proceeds appear sufficient to fund 100% of Solarworld’s disclosed Rs 420 Crores commitment, assuming the full amount is deployed. Within that commitment, approximately 23.81% is equity and 76.19% is a shareholder loan, calculated from Rs 100 Crores equity and Rs 320 Crores loan [8].

The important distinction is that the Rs 320 Crores is new debt at the JV level in the form of a loan from Solarworld to Rays Green, not a disclosed bank borrowing raised by Solarworld. The filing does not identify the funding source for the remaining Rs 580 Crores, nor does it disclose any external lender, debt drawdown or project-level borrowing amount. Thus:

  • Company-level funding: effectively IPO-funded, with no separately disclosed new Solarworld borrowing.
  • JV project-level funding: only 42% is explicitly covered by the diverted proceeds; the residual 58% remains unallocated in the disclosure and could require partner funding, additional equity, debt or other sources.

_Scope note: this comparison also included B. L. Kashyap and Sons Limited (BLKASHYAP); GPT Infraproject (GPTINFRA); SRM Contractors (SRM); SPML Infra (SPMLINFRA); SEPC Limited (SEPC), which the answer above does not cover. Ask about any of them for a full side-by-side._

ProjectCapacityEstimated project costDerived capex per GWBasis
New Rays Green JV2.4 GWRs 1,000 Crores [1]Rs 416.67 Crores/GWDerived from estimated cost ÷ capacity; the filing also describes this as approximately Rs 417 Crores/GW [7]
Earlier Pandhurana project1.2 GWRs 575.30 Crores [1]Rs 479.42 Crores/GWDerived from prospectus estimate ÷ capacity
Industry averageN/DN/DN/DNo numerical industry-average PV-cell capex/GW benchmark reported

Sources

  1. [1]Board Outcome: Joint Venture for 2.4 GW Solar PV Cell Manufacturing and Variation in IPO Proceeds Utilization2026-09-07T23:02:30, p.16
  2. [2]Board Outcome: Joint Venture for 2.4 GW Solar PV Cell Manufacturing and Variation in IPO Proceeds Utilization2026-09-07T23:02:30, p.5
  3. [3]Board Outcome: Joint Venture for 2.4 GW Solar PV Cell Manufacturing and Variation in IPO Proceeds Utilization2026-09-07T23:02:30, p.14
  4. [4]Board Outcome: Joint Venture for 2.4 GW Solar PV Cell Manufacturing and Variation in IPO Proceeds Utilization2026-09-07T23:02:30, p.15
  5. [5]Board Outcome: Joint Venture for 2.4 GW Solar PV Cell Manufacturing and Variation in IPO Proceeds Utilization2026-09-07T23:02:30, p.1
  6. [6]Board Outcome: Joint Venture for 2.4 GW Solar PV Cell Manufacturing and Variation in IPO Proceeds Utilization2026-09-07T23:02:30, p.2
  7. [7]Board Outcome: Joint Venture for 2.4 GW Solar PV Cell Manufacturing and Variation in IPO Proceeds Utilization2026-09-07T23:02:30, p.12
  8. [8]Board Outcome: Joint Venture for 2.4 GW Solar PV Cell Manufacturing and Variation in IPO Proceeds Utilization2026-09-07T23:02:30, p.11

Keep digging

What is the total project cost for the 2.4 GW Solar PV Cell manufacturing facility, and what is the specific equity contribution commitment from Solarworld Energy Solutions Limited versus the JV partner?

Ask Copilot
Logo

Unlock financial AI for your firm