Rajputana Stainless Limited announces a new order win
TL;DR
What is the total capital expenditure (Capex) outlay for these captive wind and solar projects, and what is the proposed funding mix—specifically, the split between internal accruals and incremental debt?
The total announced project outlay is Rs 38.92 Crores before GST, derived as follows:
- Wind project: Rs 1,621 Lacs, or Rs 16.21 Crores, plus GST, for one 2.10 MW WTG [1]
- Solar project: Rs 22.71 Crores plus GST for the 8.00 MWp DC project [2]
- Total: Rs 38.92 Crores plus applicable GST — GST cannot be quantified from the disclosed contract details.
Funding mix: The internal-accruals versus incremental-debt split is not disclosed in the cited project-award filing. Accordingly, the amount or percentage funded through each source cannot be determined from the reported information. The contract announcement confirms the project awards and consideration, but does not specify the financing structure [3].
Based on the company's current power consumption profile, what percentage of total energy requirements will these captive projects cover, and what is the estimated reduction in power cost per unit upon commissioning?
The filing does not provide enough information to calculate either figure. RSL has contracted 2.10 MW AC of wind capacity and 8.00 MWp DC of solar capacity, but it does not disclose the company’s annual electricity consumption, expected renewable generation, or current blended power tariff in the announcement. [1] [2]
- Coverage of total energy requirements: Not quantifiable from the disclosed data. The correct calculation is:
`annual wind and solar generation ÷ RSL’s annual electricity consumption × 100`. Nameplate capacity cannot be used directly because wind and solar output depend on plant-load factors, irradiation, downtime, and the AC/DC conversion basis.
- Reduction in power cost per unit: No defensible Rs/unit estimate is disclosed. This requires the current grid power cost and the delivered captive cost, including wheeling, transmission, banking, open-access charges, O&M, and project financing costs. The filing only states that the projects are intended to meet RSL’s captive power needs; it does not provide a tariff or savings estimate. [3]
The contracts have stated execution periods of 11 months for wind and 4 months for solar, so the benefits are commissioning-dependent rather than immediate. [1] [2]
What is the projected commissioning timeline for these assets, and how does this transition to renewable energy compare to the captive power mix of peer stainless steel manufacturers in terms of reducing grid dependency?
RSL’s solar project could be completed around January 2027 and its wind project around August 2027, assuming execution began immediately after the 7 September 2026 award. These are derived execution-completion windows, not company-confirmed commissioning dates.
RSL commissioning timeline
Both projects are intended to meet RSL’s captive power requirements [3]. The faster solar installation should be the nearer-term contributor to lower grid dependence; however, RSL has not disclosed expected annual generation, its present grid-versus-captive mix, storage or firming arrangements, or the percentage of electricity demand that the projects are expected to cover.
Comparison with disclosed stainless-steel captive renewable projects
Analyst read: RSL’s transition is meaningful in direction but smaller in disclosed scale than the Jindal Stainless and Sanyo projects. It should reduce purchased-grid electricity once operational, but the reduction cannot be ranked precisely without RSL’s baseline power consumption and expected renewable generation. Nameplate capacity alone is not a reliable measure of grid substitution because the projects have different AC/DC ratings, capacity factors and intermittent output.
Named listed comparison roster
No comparable captive-renewable capacity, generation or grid-dependency percentage is reported in the cited material for:
- Hi-Tech Pipes (HITECH)
- Steel Exchange India (STEELXIND)
- Aeroflex Enterprises (AEROENTER)
- Manaksia Coated Metals & Industries (MANAKCOAT)
- Bharat Wire Ropes (BHARATWIRE)
Accordingly, these companies cannot support a like-for-like captive-power-mix comparison. The strongest evidence-based conclusion is that RSL has initiated a two-stage renewable captive build, with solar likely to come online first, but its eventual reduction in grid dependence remains unquantified.
| Asset | Contracted capacity | Stated execution period | Indicative completion | Expected grid impact |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banaskatha solar PV | 8.00 MWp DC [2] | 4 months [2] | Early January 2027, derived from the 7 September 2026 award date [3] and stated execution period [2] | Likely to provide the first reduction in grid purchases, subject to generation, wheeling and plant-load matching |
| Jamjodhpur wind WTG | 2.10 MW AC [1] | 11 months [1] | Early August 2027, derived from the 7 September 2026 award date [3] and stated execution period [1] | Adds a second renewable source and may provide a more complementary generation profile, but remains intermittent |
| Manufacturer | Disclosed renewable captive project | Disclosure on grid substitution | Relative assessment |
|---|---|---|---|
| RSL | 8.00 MWp solar plus 2.10 MW wind [3] | No projected renewable share or grid-reduction percentage reported | Directionally positive, but impact cannot yet be quantified |
| Jindal Stainless | 315.6 MW solar-wind hybrid project; part commissioning was announced, with a Rs 132 Crores commitment from Jindal Stainless [4] | No captive-power or grid-dependency percentage reported | Much larger absolute renewable platform, although the mix is not normalized to electricity consumption |
| Sanyo Special Steel Manufacturing India | 28.125 MW AC, equivalent to 39.375 MWp, with expected generation of 61.875 MUs annually [5] | The project is expected to supply a “significant portion” of requirements, but no percentage is stated [5] | More transparent on annual output than RSL, but still insufficient to calculate exact grid displacement |
Sources
- [1]Rajputana Stainless Limited Awards Wind and Solar Captive Power Projects — 2026-09-07T12:42:06.667000, p.2
- [2]Rajputana Stainless Limited Awards Wind and Solar Captive Power Projects — 2026-09-07T12:42:06.667000, p.3
- [3]Rajputana Stainless Limited Awards Wind and Solar Captive Power Projects — 2026-09-07T12:42:06.667000, p.1
- [4]Oyster Renewable and Jindal Stainless advance industrial decarbonisation with 315.6 MW hybrid power project | Jindal Stainless — Jindalstainless, 2026-03-27T00:00:00
- [5]Tata Power Renewable Energy Limited (TPREL) joins hands with Sanyo Special Steel Manufacturing India Pvt. Ltd (SSMI) for setting up of 28.125 MW AC (39.375 MWp) Captive Solar plant — Tatapower, 2026-09-07T16:06:52.390496
Keep digging