Jubilant Agri and Consumer Products Ltd. announces an acquisition
TL;DR
What is the specific share entitlement ratio approved by the shareholders for the demerger, and how does this allocation align with the valuation report submitted to the NCLT?
The cited shareholder-approval filing does not state the specific share-entitlement ratio—i.e., how many shares of Jubilant Agri Solutions Limited are to be issued for each share held in Jubilant Agri and Consumer Products Limited. It confirms only that shareholders approved the demerger scheme transferring the Agri Business to Jubilant Agri Solutions Limited on 5 September 2026 [1]. The resolution received 1,16,36,273 votes in favour versus 597 against [2].
The same extracts also do not disclose the valuation report figures or the valuation-derived exchange ratio. The Scrutinizer’s report records that the report was intended for submission to the NCLT, but this is a procedural statement and does not provide the valuation or entitlement calculation [3].
Conclusion: alignment with the NCLT valuation report cannot be verified from the cited material. It would require the Scheme of Arrangement or valuation report containing:
- the value assigned to the demerged Agri Business;
- the value of Jubilant Agri Solutions Limited; and
- the resulting share-entitlement formula or exchange ratio.
According to the Scheme of Arrangement, what is the exact quantum of debt and liabilities being transferred to the resulting entity, and how does this shift impact the pro-forma debt-to-equity ratio of the remaining parent entity?
The exact debt and liability quantum cannot be established from the cited Scheme-approval filing. The filing confirms that the Agri Business is being demerged from Jubilant Agri and Consumer Products Limited into Jubilant Agri Solutions Limited, but the disclosed extract does not include the Scheme’s liability schedule, transferred debt balance, or a pro-forma balance sheet. [1]
Accordingly:
- Debt transferred to Jubilant Agri Solutions: Not quantified in the cited disclosure.
- Other liabilities transferred: Not quantified or itemised in the cited disclosure.
- Pro-forma debt-to-equity ratio of the remaining parent: Cannot be calculated reliably from the disclosed figures.
The mechanical calculation would be:
`Pro-forma parent debt-to-equity = (pre-demerger parent debt − debt transferred) / pro-forma parent equity`
However, the denominator may also change because the demerger can transfer associated assets, liabilities, reserves, or other equity adjustments. Therefore, subtracting an assumed debt amount while leaving equity unchanged would not be a valid calculation. The Scheme’s detailed accounting and liability schedule, together with the parent’s pre-demerger balance sheet, are required to quantify the shift.
Following shareholder approval, what are the specific regulatory milestones (e.g., NCLT sanction, ROC filings) and the defined 'Appointed Date' that remain to be satisfied before the demerger becomes effective?
Shareholder approval is only one step; the demerger is not yet shown as effective. The September 5, 2026 vote approved the Scheme, but the cited filing records only the shareholder process and submission of the voting materials—not final NCLT sanction, ROC filings, or an effective date. [1]
Practical conclusion: the evidenced next gate is submission and consideration of the voting outcome by the NCLT, followed—subject to sanction—by the statutory ROC filing of the sanctioned order. The demerger’s operative Appointed Date and the precise effectiveness mechanics must be taken from the Scheme document or the subsequent NCLT sanction order; they are not disclosed in the shareholder-voting announcement.
| Milestone | Status after shareholder approval |
|---|---|
| Shareholder approval | Completed on September 5, 2026, with the requisite majority. [1] |
| Scrutinizer’s report and voting results | Prepared for submission to the NCLT, stock exchanges and other regulatory authorities. [3] |
| NCLT sanction of the Scheme | Still required / not reported as completed in the cited disclosure. The July 8, 2026 NCLT order referred to in the filing convened the shareholder meeting; it is not identified as the final sanction order. [1] |
| Filing of the sanctioned order with the ROC | Not reported as completed in the cited disclosure. The filing would follow the NCLT sanction, but no filing date or ROC acknowledgement is provided. |
| Defined “Appointed Date” | Not stated in the cited shareholder-approval filing. No calendar date can be confirmed from this disclosure. |
Sources
- [1]Shareholder Approval for Demerger Scheme of Jubilant Agri and Consumer Products Limited — 2026-09-07T00:04:16, p.1
- [2]Shareholder Approval for Demerger Scheme of Jubilant Agri and Consumer Products Limited — 2026-09-07T00:04:16, p.9
- [3]Shareholder Approval for Demerger Scheme of Jubilant Agri and Consumer Products Limited — 2026-09-07T00:04:16, p.11
Keep digging