Indian Oil Corporation Ltd. makes a corporate announcement
TL;DR
How is this project structured from an accounting perspective—specifically, is it being capitalized as a direct asset on IOCL's balance sheet, or is it structured as a long-term Power Purchase Agreement (PPA), and how does this classification affect the company's projected depreciation and return on capital employed (ROCE) for the renewable energy segment?
Verdict: IOCL’s disclosures do not establish that the project is a direct renewable asset on the parent company’s balance sheet, nor do they identify a long-term PPA accounting model. The disclosed structure is currently vehicle-led: renewable capacity is being developed through wholly owned subsidiary Terra Clean, while other renewable initiatives involve the IOCL–NTPC Green Energy joint venture and a separate NLC India MoU. The NLC–IOCL announcement is described only as an MoU for large-scale solar, wind and hybrid projects—not as a signed PPA or a commissioned IOCL-owned asset. [4] [5] [6]
What is actually disclosed
- IOCL says development has commenced for 1 GW of renewable capacity through wholly owned subsidiary Terra Clean Ltd., with preparatory work for another 4.3 GW. [7]
- IOCL’s FY26 investment schedule separately records investments in Terra Clean Ltd. and IndianOil NTPC Green Energy Private Ltd., indicating that at least some renewable expansion is being executed through subsidiaries or joint ventures rather than solely as projects directly held by the parent. [5]
- The company also refers to a 650 MW round-the-clock renewable power requirement for refinery expansion projects through IndianOil NTPC Green Energy, but this disclosure does not specify whether the underlying arrangement is an owned generation asset, a PPA, or a combination of both. [8]
- The FY26 report discusses BOO/BOOT arrangements for certain utility facilities. Those arrangements are relevant precedents for IOCL’s contracting model, but the disclosure does not link them specifically to the renewable project in question. [9]
Accounting and ROCE consequences
IOCL’s annual-report audit disclosures confirm that capitalization decisions, asset lives, commissioning timing and impairment testing are material areas of judgement for its fixed assets. [10] The company has also recognized impairment losses on windmills and other non-fossil-fuel facilities, showing that renewable assets already on the books can affect earnings through both depreciation and impairment—not merely through operating costs. [11]
What this means for projected depreciation and ROCE
There is no project-specific depreciation forecast or renewable-energy ROCE forecast disclosed in the cited material. IOCL reports renewable capacity and generation—258.06 MW of renewable portfolio capacity and 371.40 GWh of FY26 generation—but not the project’s depreciable cost, useful life, commissioning date, segment EBIT or capital employed. [8]
Therefore:
- If the project is directly owned and capitalized, the key near-term consequence is a larger asset denominator and a future depreciation charge, making early ROCE look weak until utilization and contracted cash flows mature.
- If it is a pure long-term PPA, IOCL avoids most of the generation-asset depreciation and balance-sheet capital burden; the main economic test shifts to whether the contracted tariff is below the cost of alternative power.
- If the project sits in Terra Clean or a JV, the relevant ROCE must be assessed on a consolidated or investee-level basis, not inferred from IOCL parent-company depreciation alone.
- The renewable segment itself is not separately presented as a standalone reporting segment; power generation is included within broader “Other Business Activities” disclosures. [12] Consequently, a clean renewable ROCE calculation is not currently possible from the reported segment data.
Analytical conclusion: the evidence supports an investment-through-subsidiary/JV architecture, but not a definitive conclusion that the specific project is either a direct IOCL PP&E asset or a pure PPA. The decisive disclosures would be the executed project agreement, ownership and control rights, take-or-pay terms, identified-asset provisions, commissioning date, and the accounting note showing whether the cost is classified as PP&E, right-of-use assets, investments, or contractual commitments.
| Possible structure | Balance-sheet effect | Depreciation effect | Renewable-segment ROCE implication |
|---|---|---|---|
| IOCL-owned asset | Generation assets and construction work-in-progress would be capitalized into PP&E, either at IOCL parent level or through a consolidated subsidiary. | Depreciation would begin when the asset is available for use; depreciation would reduce segment operating profit. | Capital employed rises materially before commissioning, depressing initial ROCE. ROCE improves only as earnings ramp and the depreciable asset base declines. |
| Long-term PPA without asset control | IOCL would generally carry a contractual purchase commitment rather than the generation plant itself. | No plant depreciation at IOCL for the underlying facility; electricity cost is recognized as power is supplied, subject to the detailed contract terms. | Lower reported capital employed and therefore potentially higher initial ROCE, but operating margins reflect the contracted tariff and escalation provisions. |
| PPA with an identified asset or lease-like control | A right-of-use asset and corresponding liability could arise if the arrangement effectively gives IOCL control of the identified generation capacity. | Depreciation of the right-of-use asset would still be recognized, alongside financing effects from the liability. | The result would sit between a pure PPA and direct ownership: capital employed rises, but the balance-sheet asset and depreciation may differ from the plant’s gross construction cost. |
| JV or subsidiary-owned project | On a consolidated basis, the treatment depends on control and consolidation; on IOCL’s standalone books, the parent may primarily show an investment rather than the underlying plant. | Depreciation may sit in the subsidiary or JV accounts; the parent’s standalone result may instead reflect investment income or dividends, depending on the accounting basis. | Parent standalone ROCE and consolidated renewable economics can diverge materially. |
How does the cost-per-megawatt of this wind project compare to the capital costs of IOCL's existing renewable energy portfolio (solar/wind) disclosed in recent sustainability reports, and what is the company's stated hurdle rate or internal rate of return (IRR) for such green energy investments?
IOCL’s disclosures do not support a like-for-like cost-per-MW comparison. The latest sustainability disclosure reports an operating renewable portfolio of 258.06 MW—167.60 MW wind and 90.46 MW solar—but does not provide the historical capital cost of that portfolio. [13] The wind project’s own cost and capacity are also not identified in the cited IOC filings, so its cost per MW cannot be calculated.
Closest disclosed capital-cost proxy
The wide difference between the initial 1 GW proxy and the subsequent 4.3 GW proxy should not be read as a change in renewable technology cost. These are equity commitments for programmes at different stages, and the filings do not disclose total project cost, debt funding, land, transmission, storage, development costs, or the solar/wind mix within Terra Clean.
Hurdle rate or IRR
IOCL has not stated a numeric hurdle rate or project IRR for renewable or other green-energy investments in the cited disclosures. The company says climate metrics are integrated into project evaluation [14] and that sustainability considerations are incorporated into investment priorities and infrastructure planning [15], but no percentage hurdle rate, WACC premium, or renewable-project IRR is provided.
Analytical conclusion: the defensible benchmark is currently an equity-investment proxy of roughly Rs 25–45 lakh/MW for the planned Terra Clean programme, not a capital cost for IOCL’s existing 258.06 MW portfolio. A true comparison requires the wind project’s total cost and capacity, plus IOCL’s historical renewable capex or project-level commissioning costs.
| Reference | Capacity | Capital figure | Implied capital intensity | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Terra Clean — initial programme | 1.0 GW | Rs 1,303.75 Crores equity | Rs 130.38 lakh/MW, derived | Approved equity for planned 1 GW capacity, not all-in project capex [1] |
| Terra Clean — additional programme | 4.3 GW | Rs 1,086 Crores equity | Rs 25.26 lakh/MW, derived | Additional approved equity for planned 4.3 GW [1] |
| Terra Clean — combined programme | 5.3 GW | Rs 2,389.75 Crores equity, derived from the two approvals | Rs 45.09 lakh/MW, derived | Planned 1 GW plus 4.3 GW; equity contribution, not total project cost [1] [1] |
| Existing IOCL solar/wind portfolio | 258.06 MW | Not reported | Not calculable | Operating portfolio as of FY2025-26; capacity disclosed, historical capex not disclosed [13] |
Sources
- [1]IOC Board approves INR 1,086 Cr additional investment for 4.3 GW RE capacity in Terra Clean Ltd. — 2025-04-30T09:28:46.547000, p.1
- [2]Indian Oil Corporation Investor Handout: Strategic Overview, Green Initiatives, and Major Capex Plans. — 2025-06-02T07:01:51.197000, p.3
- [3]Integrated Annual Report 2025-26 for Indian Oil Corporation Limited — 2026-08-07T11:23:13.743000, p.108
- [4]Integrated Annual Report 2025-26 for Indian Oil Corporation Limited — 2026-08-07T11:23:13.743000, p.12
- [5]Integrated Annual Report 2025-26 for Indian Oil Corporation Limited — 2026-08-07T11:23:13.743000, p.233
- [6]NLC India, Indian Oil Corporation partner up for large-scale ... — M, 2026-06-23T00:00:00
- [7]Integrated Annual Report 2025-26 for Indian Oil Corporation Limited — 2026-08-07T11:23:13.743000, p.70
- [8]Integrated Annual Report 2025-26 for Indian Oil Corporation Limited — 2026-08-07T11:23:13.743000, p.75
- [9]Integrated Annual Report 2025-26 for Indian Oil Corporation Limited — 2026-08-07T11:23:13.743000, p.266
- [10]Integrated Annual Report 2025-26 for Indian Oil Corporation Limited — 2026-08-07T11:23:13.743000, p.310
- [11]Integrated Annual Report 2025-26 for Indian Oil Corporation Limited — 2026-08-07T11:23:13.743000, p.305
- [12]Unaudited Financial Results for the Quarter Ended June 30, 2026 — 2026-07-31T17:43:03, p.15
- [13]Integrated Annual Report 2025-26 for Indian Oil Corporation Limited — 2026-08-07T11:23:13.743000, p.139
- [14]Integrated Annual Report 2025-26 for Indian Oil Corporation Limited — 2026-08-07T11:23:13.743000, p.81
- [15]Integrated Annual Report 2025-26 for Indian Oil Corporation Limited — 2026-08-07T11:23:13.743000, p.73
Keep digging