Inox Wind Ltd. sees a credit rating action
TL;DR
The FY2025-26 BRSR identifies specific environmental and supply chain risks; how do these disclosures map against the covenants of the company’s existing sustainability-linked loans or green financing facilities, and are there any specific performance indicators (KPIs) that, if missed, trigger a step-up in interest costs?
I couldn't find relevant information for this query. Please try rephrasing or asking about a specific metric.
Regarding the 'Principle 5' disclosures on supply chain sustainability in the FY2025-26 BRSR, what percentage of the company's critical raw material procurement is currently sourced from vendors compliant with the company's ESG supplier code of conduct, and what is the quantified financial exposure to potential supply chain disruptions identified in the report?
I couldn't find relevant information for this query. Please try rephrasing or asking about a specific metric.
How do the energy intensity and waste management metrics disclosed in the FY2025-26 BRSR compare to the reported figures of peer wind turbine manufacturers (e.g., Suzlon Energy), and does the company’s current capital expenditure plan for manufacturing upgrades align with the efficiency benchmarks required to maintain its competitive credit rating in the sector?
Verdict: The comparison is not currently supportable from the reported evidence. FY26 energy-intensity, waste-generation/recovery, and manufacturing-upgrade capex metrics are not reported for either Inox Wind or Suzlon in the cited material. Accordingly, it is not possible to establish whether Inox is more efficient than Suzlon or whether its upgrade programme meets a rating-agency efficiency benchmark.
FY26 environmental disclosure comparison
The relevant metrics must also be normalized correctly: energy intensity could be reported per unit of revenue, product output or production volume, while waste may be disclosed by mass, category or disposal route. Those definitions are not available here, so even partial figures would not necessarily be comparable.
What the financial data does—and does not—show
The balance-sheet data provides only a limited investment proxy, not a disclosed capex programme. Inox Wind’s consolidated fixed assets increased from Rs 2,586.7 Crores in FY25 to Rs 3,007.1 Crores in FY26, while capital work in progress declined from Rs 296.1 Crores to Rs 247.3 Crores [1] [2]. That movement does not identify manufacturing upgrades, commissioning, energy savings or actual cash capex.
Suzlon’s consolidated fixed assets increased from Rs 1,842.5 Crores to Rs 2,447.8 Crores, and its capital work in progress increased from Rs 88.7 Crores to Rs 176.3 Crores over the same periods [3] [4]. These figures are not directly comparable as efficiency benchmarks because they do not disclose plant capacity, production volume, technology mix or environmental outcomes.
A simple FY26 consolidated leverage proxy indicates materially different financial capacity: Inox Wind’s net debt/EBITDA was approximately 1.33x, derived from net debt of Rs 1,420.7 Crores and EBITDA of Rs 1,064.4 Crores [5] [6]. Suzlon’s corresponding ratio was approximately -0.12x, indicating net cash on this definition, derived from net debt of negative Rs 367.0 Crores and EBITDA of Rs 3,132.3 Crores [7] [8]. This is relevant to funding flexibility, but it is not a rating-agency threshold and does not substitute for environmental-efficiency data.
Credit-rating implication
The alignment test cannot be completed because three inputs are missing:
- Inox Wind’s stated manufacturing-upgrade scope, investment amount, commissioning date and targeted energy or waste reduction.
- Comparable FY26 BRSR metrics for Suzlon using the same denominator and waste classifications.
- The applicable rating-agency benchmark or covenant linking plant efficiency to the company’s credit rating.
The defensible conclusion is therefore “not demonstrated,” rather than “aligned” or “misaligned.” The capex case would become credit-relevant if the company disclosed measurable savings per unit of output, lower energy intensity, higher recycling or recovery rates, implementation milestones and funding impact. Until then, the available data supports only a balance-sheet comparison: Inox is more leveraged than Suzlon on the FY26 net-debt/EBITDA proxy, which makes execution and funding discipline important, but does not establish any environmental-compliance or rating outcome.
| Metric | Inox Wind | Suzlon Energy | Analyst read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy intensity | N/D — FY26 BRSR metric not reported | N/D — FY26 BRSR metric not reported | No like-for-like comparison |
| Total energy consumption or renewable-energy share | N/D | N/D | No basis to assess energy transition or plant efficiency |
| Waste generated by category | N/D | N/D | No comparison of hazardous, non-hazardous or process waste |
| Waste recycled, reused or disposed | N/D | N/D | No basis to compare circularity or disposal risk |
| Manufacturing-upgrade capex plan | N/D — project amount, scope and savings not reported | Not assessed | No evidence to test payback or efficiency impact |
Sources
- [1]Fixed Assets
- [2]Capital Work in Progress
- [3]Fixed Assets
- [4]Capital Work in Progress
- [5]Net Debt
- [6]EBITDA
- [7]Net Debt
- [8]EBITDA
Keep digging