Indian Bank announces an acquisition
TL;DR
How does Indian Bank’s remaining exposure to unlisted equity investments like the NSE compare to its peer public sector banks, and what has been the historical contribution of non-core asset divestments to the bank’s 'Other Income' over the last three fiscal years?
Verdict: Indian Bank’s relative exposure to unlisted equity investments such as NSE cannot be ranked against Canara Bank, Bank of Baroda, PNB, Union Bank and Bank of Maharashtra from the cited material: comparable carrying-value or fair-value disclosures for these holdings are not reported. The same limitation applies to quantifying non-core asset divestment income—Indian Bank reports total Other Income, but not the portion attributable to such divestments.
Unlisted equity exposure
Accordingly, it is not possible to conclude whether Indian Bank’s remaining unlisted-equity exposure is lower or higher than that of its PSU-bank peers. The relevant comparison would need to use the same definition across banks—preferably the carrying value and fair value of unlisted equity investments at FY26 year-end—not sale proceeds or headline stake values.
Indian Bank: Other Income and divestment contribution
Total consolidated Other Income increased by Rs 817.1 Crores, or 8.17%, from FY25 to FY26; this is a derived change from the reported figures, not evidence that the increase came from asset divestments [4]. The available line item does not isolate gains or proceeds from sales of non-core equity investments, strategic holdings or other assets.
Analytical implication: Indian Bank’s reported Other Income was not wholly recurring by definition, but its exact non-core-divestment dependence cannot be established from the aggregate number. A proper assessment requires the annual-report notes breaking Other Income into fee income, treasury gains, recoveries, dividend income and profit on sale of investments, together with the FY24 figure and peer-level investment schedules.
| Bank | Remaining unlisted-equity exposure, including NSE-type holdings | Comparable basis |
|---|---|---|
| Indian Bank | N/D — not separately reported | No carrying value, fair value or NSE-specific amount available |
| Canara Bank | N/D — not separately reported | No comparable amount available |
| Bank of Baroda | N/D — not separately reported | No comparable amount available |
| Punjab National Bank | N/D — not separately reported | No comparable amount available |
| Union Bank of India | N/D — not separately reported | No comparable amount available |
| Bank of Maharashtra | N/D — not separately reported | No comparable amount available |
Sources
- [1]Indian Bank to Divest 1.5 Million NSE Shares via OFS in Proposed IPO by Sep 2026 — 2026-09-09T19:50:34, p.1
- [2]Indian Bank to Divest 1.5 Million NSE Shares via OFS in Proposed IPO by Sep 2026 — 2026-09-09T19:50:34, p.2
- [3]CET1 Ratio
- [4]Other Income
Keep digging