CREDIT RISK UPDATESCapital Goods

Graphite India Ltd. sees a credit rating action

Graphite India Ltd.GRAPHITE

TL;DR

Preliminary antidumping rate: 9.88% cash-deposit rate on Graphite India’s exports of large-diameter graphite electrodes to the U.S., after the subsidy offset. The underlying preliminary dumping margin was 12.22%.

What is the specific antidumping duty rate assigned to Graphite India in the U.S. Department of Commerce’s preliminary determination, and what percentage of the company’s consolidated revenue was derived from exports to the U.S. market in the most recent fiscal year?

  • Preliminary antidumping rate: 9.88% cash-deposit rate on Graphite India’s exports of large-diameter graphite electrodes to the U.S., after the subsidy offset. The underlying preliminary dumping margin was 12.22%. [1]
  • U.S. export revenue share: The consolidated percentage for the most recent fiscal year is not reported in the cited disclosure, so it cannot be calculated from the available revenue figures. The filing states that the financial impact was not yet ascertainable. [1]

How does the preliminary duty rate assigned to Graphite India compare to the rates assigned to its primary domestic peer, HEG Ltd, and what differences in U.S. export volume or product mix are highlighted in recent filings that might explain any variance in these duty determinations?

Graphite India’s preliminary U.S. cash-deposit rate is 9.88%; its underlying preliminary dumping margin is 12.22%. The 9.88% rate reflects an adjustment for a subsidy offset and applies to its exports of large-diameter graphite electrodes. The effective date had not yet been notified as of the 28 September 2026 communication. [1]

What could explain a variance

  • No like-for-like HEG comparison is available: The cited filing contains Graphite India’s determination but does not state a corresponding HEG rate. News and broker coverage were also unavailable, so there is no evidence here to establish whether HEG received a higher, lower, or zero preliminary rate.
  • Product scope may matter: Graphite India’s filing specifically refers to large-diameter graphite electrodes, not its entire electrode portfolio. A different proportion of large-diameter products, or exports outside the investigation’s scope, could produce a different company-level outcome, but neither Graphite India’s nor HEG’s mix is quantified in the cited material.
  • U.S. export volume is not disclosed: The filing gives no U.S.-bound export volume, export value, shipment share, or customer-level data. Therefore, it cannot support a conclusion that Graphite India’s rate reflects larger U.S. volumes than HEG’s.
  • The adjustment is explicitly relevant: Graphite India’s 12.22% dumping margin becomes a 9.88% cash-deposit rate after a subsidy-offset adjustment. Differences in methodology, company-specific pricing data, subsidy treatment, or product mix could explain a variance versus HEG, but the filing does not identify any HEG-specific basis. [1]

Bottom line: The defensible comparison is Graphite India at a 9.88% preliminary cash-deposit rate, versus an undetermined HEG rate in the cited evidence. Recent filings do not provide the U.S. export volumes or product-mix split needed to attribute any eventual difference to scale or mix.

CompanyPreliminary dumping marginPreliminary cash-deposit rateU.S. product scope
Graphite India12.22% [1]9.88% [1]Large-diameter graphite electrodes [1]
HEG LtdNot reported in the cited materialNot reported in the cited materialNot reported in the cited material

Following the preliminary determination, what specific disclosures has the company made in its recent financial statements regarding the potential impact of U.S. trade duties on its operating margins, and does the company currently hold any provisions for such contingent liabilities?

Graphite India has disclosed a potential cost and competitiveness risk, but not a quantified operating-margin impact or a recognized provision.

  • The U.S. Department of Commerce’s preliminary determination carries a 12.22% dumping margin and a 9.88% cash-deposit rate, after a subsidy offset, on the company’s large-diameter graphite-electrode exports to the U.S.; the effective date was yet to be notified in the filing dated 28 September 2026. [1]
  • The company’s specific financial-impact disclosure is that the impact is “un-ascertainable at this juncture.” It therefore has not disclosed an estimated reduction in operating margin, incremental duty cost, or the extent to which duties could be passed on to customers. [1]
  • The cited filing is a Regulation 30 corporate disclosure, rather than a financial-statement note. It does not state that a provision has been recognized or is currently held for the potential duties. Accordingly, the evidence supports “provision status not disclosed,” not a conclusion that the provision is zero. [2]

Implication: the 9.88% cash-deposit rate is the relevant immediate exposure, but the eventual margin effect remains dependent on the final determination, effective date, U.S. sales exposure, pricing actions, and cost pass-through. The company has not quantified those variables in the cited disclosure.

Sources

  1. [1]Disclosure of Preliminary Antidumping Duty Determination by U.S. Department of Commerce on Graphite Electrodes — 2026-09-29T16:51:19.363000, p.2
  2. [2]Disclosure of Preliminary Antidumping Duty Determination by U.S. Department of Commerce on Graphite Electrodes — 2026-09-29T16:51:19.363000, p.1

Keep digging

What is the specific antidumping duty rate assigned to Graphite India in the U.S. Department of Commerce’s preliminary determination, and what percentage of the company’s consolidated revenue was derived from exports to the U.S. market in the most recent fiscal year?

Ask Copilot
Logo

Unlock financial AI for your firm