Granules India Ltd. moves to reshape its capital structure
TL;DR
What is the total equity dilution resulting from this specific tranche of warrant conversion, and how does the conversion price compare to the volume-weighted average price (VWAP) of the stock at the time of the original warrant issuance?
The promoter-group tranche created 24,982,906 new equity shares, increasing paid-up shares from 247,796,921 to 272,779,827 [1].
- Dilution relative to pre-issue equity: 24,982,906 ÷ 247,796,921 = 10.08%.
- New shares as a percentage of post-issue equity: 24,982,906 ÷ 272,779,827 = 9.16%.
- Put differently, existing shareholders’ aggregate ownership falls from 100% to approximately 90.84%, before considering the separate 17,094 warrants still outstanding [1].
The implied conversion price is Rs 585 per share. This is derived from the reported 75% balance payment of Rs 438.75 per warrant: Rs 438.75 ÷ 75% = Rs 585 [2].
VWAP comparison: the VWAP at the time of the original warrant issuance is not reported in the cited material, so the premium or discount cannot be quantified reliably. The calculation would be:
`premium or discount = (Rs 585 ÷ original-issue VWAP - 1) × 100`
Thus, the confirmed conclusion is the 9.16% post-issue equity dilution, while the Rs 585 conversion-price comparison to VWAP remains undetermined without the original issuance VWAP.
What is the precise change in the promoter group's shareholding percentage post-allotment, and does this increase trigger any specific disclosure requirements under the SEBI (SAST) Regulations regarding creeping acquisition limits?
Promoter-group holding rose from 31.08% to 37.39% on the reported diluted/post-allotment basis — an increase of 6.31 percentage points. The underlying allotment comprised 2,49,82,906 equity shares to promoter-group members [3]. The 31.08% and 37.39% figures are reported in the shareholding disclosure [4].
SAST implications
- Regulation 29(2) disclosure: Because the promoter group already held more than 5%, a change of 2% or more from its last disclosed holding generally requires a disclosure within two working days. The reported 6.31 pp increase therefore exceeds that disclosure threshold.
- Creeping-acquisition limit: The 5% limit under Regulation 3(2) is a financial-year acquisition limit for an acquirer already holding at least 25% but below the maximum permissible non-public shareholding. It is not merely a disclosure threshold.
- Potential excess: On the reported percentage bridge, the increase is 1.31 pp above the 5% annual limit. However, the SAST test is based on voting rights acquired during the financial year, not simply the difference between a pre-allotment paid-up percentage and a post-allotment diluted percentage. Prior acquisitions during the year, the exact voting-capital denominator and any applicable exemption must therefore be checked.
Conclusion: The allotment should trigger the applicable Regulation 29(2) change-in-shareholding disclosure. It should not automatically be described as permissible creeping acquisition: if the full acquisition counts toward the financial-year limit and no exemption applies, the increase exceeds the 5% allowance and may have open-offer implications, rather than being only a disclosure matter.
Based on the original disclosure document for the warrant issuance, what is the specific allocation of the proceeds from this conversion, and does the company have any remaining warrants outstanding that are scheduled for conversion in the upcoming quarters?
The original allotment disclosure does not provide a project-wise allocation of the conversion proceeds. It records that 2,49,82,906 equity shares were allotted to the promoter group after receipt of the balance 75% subscription amount against the warrants [1]. The filing does not earmark the proceeds between peptides, CDMO, oncology, capex, debt repayment, working capital, or any other specific use.
A third-party ICICI Direct note said it believed the proceeds would be primarily deployed toward expansion in oncology and peptides, but that is an analyst view—not a company-stated allocation in the warrant disclosure [5].
Remaining warrants: Yes. After this conversion, 17,094 warrants issued to the non-promoter investor category remained outstanding [1]. The original filing does not specify fixed conversion dates or identify particular upcoming quarters for their exercise. The broader issuance terms provided for conversion within 18 months of the February 23, 2026 allotment, in one or more tranches, subject to the warrant holders exercising their rights [6].
Sources
- [1]Allotment of Equity Shares to Promoter Group via Warrant Conversion — 2026-09-16T17:42:10, p.1
- [2]GRANULES — Nsearchives, 2026-09-16T16:04:00.346402
- [3]G GRANULES — Nsearchives, 2026-09-16T00:00:00
- [4]Granules India: Promoter Group Shareholding Decreases to 31.08% After Block Deal | InvestyWise — Investywise, 2026-09-11T00:00:00
- [5]granules raises 300 crore through preferential allotment and warrant issuance | ICICI Direct — Icicidirect, 2026-02-24T00:00:00
- [6]Granules India Completes Preferential Allotment of Convertible Warrants and Equity Shares Worth ₹665.63 Crores — Scanx, 2026-02-23T00:00:00
Keep digging