Gandhi Special Tubes Limited announces a capital-allocation move
TL;DR
Following the extinguishment of 8,68,100 shares, what was the total cash outflow for this buyback, and what is the resulting pro-forma impact on the company's Earnings Per Share (EPS) based on the latest audited financials?
The buyback’s cash consideration was Rs 78.13 Crores, calculated as 8,68,100 shares × Rs 900 per share [1]. This excludes transaction-related expenses and taxes, which are not separately quantified in the cited filing.
Pro-forma FY26 EPS impact
Using FY26 standalone PAT of Rs 68.36 Crores [2] and the post-buyback share count of 1,12,83,900 shares [3]:
- Pro-forma EPS: Rs 60.58 per share
- Calculation: Rs 68.36 Crores ÷ 1,12,83,900 shares
- Reported FY26 diluted EPS before the buyback: Rs 56.26 [4]
- Pro-forma accretion: approximately Rs 4.32 per share, or 7.68%
This is a mechanical pro-forma calculation assuming FY26 earnings remain unchanged and the reduced share count applies for the full period. It does not include any reduction in interest or other income arising from deploying Rs 78.13 Crores of cash.
Based on the post-buyback shareholding pattern filing, what is the net change in the promoter group's stake, and how does the final acceptance ratio compare to the initial tender offer size?
The promoter group’s stake declined by 1.83 percentage points, from 73.53% to 71.70%. In share terms, promoter holdings fell by 8,44,704 shares, from 89,35,257 to 80,90,553 shares. [5]
The company ultimately bought back 8,68,100 shares, exactly matching the initial tender-offer size of 8,68,100 shares. Thus, 100% of the announced buyback size was completed. [1]
A true tender-to-acceptance ratio cannot be calculated without the total number of shares tendered. The promoter holding reduction represented approximately 97.31% of the total shares bought back (8,44,704 ÷ 8,68,100), with the balance coming from non-promoter shareholders; this is an allocation inference, not the overall tender acceptance ratio. [5] [1]
How does the total payout for this buyback compare to the company's free cash flow generation over the last three fiscal years, and does this payout ratio align with the company's historical capital allocation policy regarding the distribution of surplus cash?
Verdict: The completed buyback represented a gross shareholder payout of approximately Rs 78.13 Crores, equivalent to 81.00% of the company’s reported FY25-FY26 cumulative free cash flow. A precise three-year ratio cannot be calculated because FY24 operating cash flow and capex are not reported in the available financial series. In policy terms, the buyback is consistent with Gandhi Special Tubes’ history of using buybacks to distribute surplus cash, but its intensity is substantially higher than the company’s reported regular dividend payout levels.
Payout versus free cash flow
The buyback covered 8,68,100 shares at Rs 900 per share, implying gross consideration of Rs 78.13 Crores (derived) [1]. The actual cash outflow including transaction-related costs is not separately reported [6].
- FY25-FY26 cumulative FCF was Rs 96.46 Crores, derived as operating cash flow less capex [7] [8].
- The buyback therefore equalled 81.00% of that two-year FCF.
- It was larger than either individual year’s FCF: approximately 180.65% of FY25 FCF and 146.83% of FY26 FCF.
- The exact FY24-FY26 payout-to-FCF ratio remains unresolved; if FY24 FCF was positive, the true three-year ratio would be below 81.00%, and vice versa.
Does this fit historical capital allocation?
The form of the payout is consistent with the company’s history. The buyback offer documentation records earlier buybacks in 2018, 2019 and 2021 [9], indicating that repurchases have been a recurring mechanism for returning surplus cash rather than a one-off innovation.
The magnitude is less clearly aligned with regular distributions:
- A third-party Screener summary reports dividend payout ratios of 28% in FY24, 31% in FY25 and 27% in FY26 [10].
- However, the structured financial data reports Rs 0 dividend per share for FY25 and FY26 [11]. This conflict means the recent dividend-payout history should be verified against the audited annual reports before treating it as a dependable cash-distribution benchmark.
- The reported 27-31% dividend payout figures, where used, are payout as a percentage of profit, whereas the 81.00% buyback ratio is buyback consideration as a percentage of FCF. They are therefore directional, not directly comparable ratios.
Analyst read: The evidence supports an episodic surplus-cash distribution policy using buybacks, but not a fixed annual commitment to distribute a defined percentage of FCF. The current buyback was a sizable balance-sheet return—near the statutory 25% limit of paid-up capital plus free reserves [9]—and was materially more aggressive than the reported recurring dividend payout rate.
Sources
- [1]Completion of Equity Share Buyback and Extinguishment of 8,68,100 Shares — 2026-09-17T13:28:29.857000, p.3
- [2]PAT
- [3]Completion of Equity Share Buyback and Extinguishment of 8,68,100 Shares — 2026-09-17T13:28:29.857000, p.1
- [4]Diluted EPS
- [5]Completion of Equity Share Buyback and Extinguishment of 8,68,100 Shares — 2026-09-17T13:28:29.857000, p.2
- [6]Gandhi Special Tubes Limited announces a capital-allocation move — Knowyourcompany, 2026-09-11T00:00:00
- [7]TTM Operating Cash Flow
- [8]TTM Capex
- [9]Gandhi Special Tubes Limited — Sebi, 2026-08-25T00:00:00
- [10]About Gandhi Spl. Tube | Key Insights — Screener, 2026-09-17T00:00:00
- [11]Dividend Per Share
Keep digging