Fortis Healthcare Ltd. sees a credit rating action
TL;DR
What is the total quantum of contingent liabilities currently disclosed in the notes to the latest financial statements specifically attributable to the litigation involving Daiichi Sankyo and the Delhi High Court judgment, and has the company made any specific provisions against this amount in its P&L?
The exact quantum cannot be established from the latest financial-statement material cited here. The reproduced auditor disclosure does not give a rupee amount specifically attributable to the Daiichi Sankyo litigation or the Delhi High Court matter. The separate figures reported for Daiichi’s arbitration award or claim should not be treated as Fortis’ contingent liability. [1]
Provisioning: Fortis has stated that a further provision was made and recognised for contingencies arising from the underlying issues in the quarter and year ended 31 March 2021. [2] However, the cited disclosure does not quantify that provision, does not explicitly identify it as being equal to the current Daiichi/Delhi High Court contingent-liability amount, and does not provide a separately identifiable P&L charge against such an amount.
Accordingly:
- Contingent liability attributable to this litigation: Amount not separately ascertainable from the cited latest-note disclosure.
- Specific provision: A provision was recognised in FY21 for potential contingencies, but its amount and direct linkage to the current litigation liability are not disclosed in the cited material.
- Analytical conclusion: It would be incorrect to equate the reported arbitration award or claim with Fortis’ contingent liability, or to conclude that the FY21 provision fully covers that liability.
Does the company’s latest regulatory filing or Management Discussion & Analysis (MD&A) explicitly state that the filing of the Special Leave Petition (SLP) acts as a stay on the Delhi High Court’s directions regarding the IHH Healthcare open offer, or does the judgment remain enforceable pending the Supreme Court's admission of the petition?
The cited material does not state that filing the SLP automatically stays the Delhi High Court’s directions. The reported position is that Fortis filed the SLP, but investors must still await a specific Supreme Court order granting an interim stay; management also said it would cooperate with the High Court’s directions. [3]
Accordingly, the Delhi High Court judgment should be treated as remaining operative unless and until the Supreme Court grants a stay or otherwise modifies it. Filing, or even admission, of the SLP is not itself reported as a stay.
Two qualifications matter:
- The cited report discusses the Delhi High Court’s forensic-audit directions in relation to the IHH transaction; it does not reproduce the text of Fortis’s latest regulatory filing or MD&A, nor does it expressly address an automatic stay of the IHH open-offer directions. [3]
- Therefore, the precise legal position should ultimately be verified against the Supreme Court’s order sheet and the wording of Fortis’s actual exchange filing. On the evidence cited here, there is no disclosed automatic stay.
How has the company’s classification of the Daiichi Sankyo litigation risk in the 'Contingent Liabilities' section of the notes to accounts evolved over the last three fiscal years, and does the company currently treat this as a 'possible' or 'probable' outflow under Ind AS 37?
The available evidence does not establish whether Fortis currently classifies the Daiichi Sankyo exposure as a “possible” or “probable” outflow under Ind AS 37. The FY2025-26 annual-report material refers to shares being attached to satisfy a decree in favour of Daiichi Sankyo, but the cited extract does not reproduce the relevant “Contingent Liabilities” wording or its probability classification.[4]
What can be concluded: the legal exposure remained a matter requiring note disclosure in FY2025-26, and the annual report separately drew attention to ongoing legal and investigation-related matters in its notes.[4] However, that does not by itself establish a provision or a “probable” outflow. The later Tokyo District Court outcome—dismissal of NTK’s claims against Daiichi Sankyo—also does not answer how Fortis classified its own exposure in its financial statements.[5]
Accordingly, the current classification should be reported as undetermined from the cited evidence, rather than labelled “possible” or “probable.” The exact FY2023-24, FY2024-25 and FY2025-26 notes to accounts are required to establish whether the wording changed across the three years.
| Fiscal year | Daiichi Sankyo classification in “Contingent Liabilities” | Evidence status |
|---|---|---|
| FY2023-24 | Not determinable from the cited material | Exact note disclosure not available |
| FY2024-25 | Not determinable from the cited material | Exact note disclosure not available |
| FY2025-26 | Not determinable from the cited material | Annual-report extract mentions the decree and attached shares, but not “possible” or “probable” classification [4] |
Sources
- [1]Delhi HC orders forensic audit of Fortis, IHH and RHT transactions in $4.6-billion Daiichi-Singh case - The Economic Times — Economic Times, 2026-08-31T00:00:00
- [2]May 22, 2026 FHL/SEC/2026-27 BSE Limited The National Stock Exchange of India Ltd. Scrip Symbol: FORTIS Scrip Code:532843 Sub: Outcome — BSE India, 2026-05-22T00:00:00
- [3]Fortis Healthcare Files Special Leave Petition Before Supreme Court Against Delhi HC Judgment — Sahi, 2026-09-16T00:00:00
- [4]FHL/SEC/2026-27 July 17, 2026 National Stock Exchange of India Limited BSE Limited Exchange Plaza, Bandra Kurla Complex, Phiroze Jeejeebhoy Towers, — Nsearchives, 2026-07-17T00:00:00
- [5]Tokyo court dismisses NTK's claims against Daiichi Sankyo; costs on NTK — Scanx, 2026-09-11T00:00:00
Keep digging