Fine Organic Industries Limited announces an acquisition
TL;DR
What are the trailing twelve-month (TTM) revenue and EBITDA figures for Oleofine Organics as disclosed in the acquisition filing, and what implied valuation multiple (EV/EBITDA or P/E) does the INR 80.28 crore consideration represent for the 80% stake?
The filing discloses a 12-month turnover of Rs 54.17 Crores for the financial year ended 31 January 2026, but it does not disclose EBITDA or PAT. Therefore, an EV/EBITDA or P/E multiple cannot be calculated from the acquisition filing. [1]
On the 80% purchase price alone, the consideration equates to approximately 1.48x the target’s reported annual turnover (Rs 80.28 Crores / Rs 54.17 Crores). This is only a price-to-revenue reference: enterprise value would require Oleofine’s debt and cash, while EV/EBITDA and P/E require EBITDA and net income, respectively.
| Item | Figure | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue / turnover | Rs 54.17 Crores | FY ended 31 January 2026; closest disclosed 12-month figure [1] |
| EBITDA | Not disclosed | EV/EBITDA cannot be computed [1] |
| PAT / net income | Not disclosed | P/E cannot be computed [1] |
| Consideration | Up to Rs 80.28 Crores | Cash consideration for an 80% equity stake, plus applicable transaction costs [1] |
| Implied 100% equity value | Up to Rs 100.35 Crores | Derived as Rs 80.28 Crores / 80% [1] |
| Implied equity value / revenue | Approximately 1.85x | Derived as Rs 100.35 Crores / Rs 54.17 Crores; this is not EV/EBITDA or P/E [1] |
Does the acquisition of Oleofine Organics provide Fine Organic with specific incremental manufacturing capacity, new product certifications, or backward integration into key raw materials, and how does the target's current product portfolio overlap with Fine Organic’s existing oleochemical segments?
Verdict: The acquisition disclosure does not establish a specific capacity addition, new product certifications, or backward integration into raw materials. It is better characterized, on the evidence disclosed, as an 80% acquisition of a Malaysian specialty-chemicals business that may broaden Fine Organic’s regional presence and product reach, rather than a clearly quantified manufacturing or raw-material integration transaction. [2]
What the disclosure supports
Portfolio overlap with Fine Organic
Fine Organic’s existing portfolio is described as oleochemical-based additives for food, plastics, cosmetics, coatings and other specialty applications. Its polymer-additive range includes lubricants, anti-fogging agents, anti-static additives, slip additives, processing aids and dispersants. [3]
Oleofine’s acquisition filing does not provide a product catalogue or segment-wise revenue split; the “products/line of business” field is recorded only as “As stated above,” without a detailed product description. [1] Therefore:
- Broad overlap: Both businesses operate in specialty chemicals, so a broad strategic fit with Fine Organic’s existing oleochemical-additives platform is evident. [2]
- Product-level overlap: Cannot be demonstrated from the disclosure. It is not possible to determine whether Oleofine is primarily exposed to Fine Organic’s polymer additives, food additives, or another specialty-chemical sub-segment.
- Potential interpretation: The transaction may add distribution access and a Southeast Asian operating base, but the available evidence does not show that it adds a materially differentiated product family or a new high-barrier certification portfolio.
Key diligence gap: The economic case depends on Oleofine’s undisclosed product mix, plant capacity and utilization, certifications, customer base, raw-material sourcing, and the degree of substitution versus Fine Organic’s existing products. Until those details are disclosed, the acquisition should not be credited with quantified capacity, certification-led entry, or upstream integration benefits.
| Question | Evidence-based assessment |
|---|---|
| Incremental manufacturing capacity | Not quantified. The filing does not provide plant locations, installed capacity, product-wise capacity, utilization, or capacity expansion plans for Oleofine. Its FY ended January 31, 2026 turnover was RM 23,287,742, equivalent to approximately Rs 54.17 Crores; turnover should not be treated as manufacturing capacity. [1] |
| New product certifications | No certifications, regulatory approvals, customer qualifications, or newly acquired product registrations are identified in the acquisition disclosure. |
| Backward integration | No evidence is provided of ownership or control of fatty acids, oils, esters, or other key upstream raw materials. The filing describes Oleofine only as a Malaysian specialty-chemicals company and does not disclose its raw-material assets or sourcing model. [2] |
| Strategic footprint | The clearest disclosed benefit is geographic: Fine Organic gains control of an operating specialty-chemicals entity incorporated in Malaysia, with 80% acquired for up to RM 342.08 million, equivalent to approximately Rs 80.28 Crores. [1] |
Is the acquisition of the 80% stake in Oleofine Organics classified as a Related Party Transaction (RPT) under SEBI LODR regulations, and what are the specific terms governing the remaining 20% equity stake, such as call/put options or future buyout clauses?
Yes—but only the 50% portion purchased from Smoothex Chemicals is clearly identified as an RPT on the disclosed facts. Fine Organic’s filing states that Smoothex is a related party and promoter-group entity, while the other 30% is being acquired from unrelated shareholders. Accordingly, the transaction contains an RPT component; the 30% purchase from unrelated sellers is not an RPT solely because it forms part of the same acquisition. [1]
The announced transaction is a cash acquisition of an 80% stake under Share Transfer Agreements, for an aggregate cost of up to RM 342,080,000 plus applicable transaction costs. [1]
Remaining 20% stake: The cited acquisition disclosure does not specify:
- a call option in favour of Fine Organic;
- a put option in favour of the minority shareholders;
- a mandatory or conditional future buyout;
- a pre-agreed price, valuation formula, or exercise period; or
- any drag-along, tag-along, or other exit arrangement.
Therefore, no future buyout obligation or option right should be assumed from the 80% acquisition announcement alone. The precise position would require review of the executed Share Transfer Agreements and any shareholders’ agreement. The filing confirms that the agreements were executed on September 2, 2026, but the cited extract does not reproduce their provisions concerning the retained 20% stake. [2]
Regulatory nuance: The disclosure establishes the related-party seller and the RPT component, but it does not, in the cited passages, state whether the transaction was formally classified as a material RPT, nor does it provide the audit committee or shareholder-approval mechanics. That classification and approval status would need to be checked in the company’s RPT disclosures and approval records.
| Component | Seller relationship | RPT assessment |
|---|---|---|
| 50% of Oleofine | Smoothex Chemicals, identified as a related party and promoter-group entity | RPT component |
| 30% of Oleofine | Other unrelated shareholders | Not an RPT on the disclosed relationship |
| Remaining 20% | Not acquired under the announced transaction | Terms not disclosed |
Sources
- [1]Fine Organic to Acquire 80% Stake in Oleofine Organics for INR 80.28 Crores — 2026-09-02T13:39:34.290000, p.3
- [2]Fine Organic to Acquire 80% Stake in Oleofine Organics for INR 80.28 Crores — 2026-09-02T13:39:34.290000, p.1
- [3]Fine Organic Industries Ltd share price | About Fine Organic | Key Insights - Screener — Screener, 2026-09-02T16:05:42.337271
Keep digging