MERGERS ACQUISITIONSAutomobile and Auto Components

Endurance Technologies Ltd. announces an acquisition

Endurance Technologies Ltd.ENDURANCE

TL;DR

The €18 million payment for the remaining 32% implies a 100% equity valuation of €56.25 million: Implied value = €18 million ÷ 32% = €56.25 million. On an enterprise-value basis, this equals €56.25 million only if the Stöferle entities have no net debt or excess cash; the filing does not provide a net-debt adjustment.

Based on the €18 million consideration for the remaining 32% stake, what is the implied enterprise value of the Stöferle entities, and how does this valuation multiple compare to the initial acquisition cost paid by Endurance Technologies when they acquired the majority stake in 2018?

The €18 million payment for the remaining 32% implies a 100% equity valuation of €56.25 million:

  • Implied value = €18 million ÷ 32% = €56.25 million.
  • On an enterprise-value basis, this equals €56.25 million only if the Stöferle entities have no net debt or excess cash; the filing does not provide a net-debt adjustment. The transaction gives Endurance 100% ownership after previously holding 68% [1] [1].

The 2018 initial acquisition cost is not stated in the cited disclosure, so the valuation multiple versus that cost cannot be calculated reliably from the available evidence. If the 2018 cost was €X, the comparison would be:

Implied valuation multiple = €56.25 million ÷ €X

For reference, the current transaction values each 1% stake at €0.5625 million, implying a current value of €38.25 million for the previously acquired 68% stake. That is a valuation comparison, not a return calculation, because the 2018 purchase price and any subsequent capital injections, debt, cash, or consideration adjustments are not available here.

With the transition to 100% ownership, what is the expected impact on the consolidated Profit & Loss statement regarding the elimination of the 'Non-Controlling Interest' (NCI) line item, and what was the specific contribution of these entities to the company's consolidated PAT in the most recent fiscal year?

The move to 100% ownership should remove the NCI allocation from Endurance’s consolidated P&L, but it should not by itself change consolidated revenue, operating profit, or total consolidated PAT. Endurance already held 68% of the Stöferle entities and agreed to acquire the remaining 32% for €18 million. [1] [1]

  • Before completion: 100% of the entities’ revenue and expenses are consolidated, but 32% of their post-tax profit is allocated to NCI.
  • After completion: the NCI line should disappear, and that previously allocated 32% will accrue to Endurance’s equity holders. Thus, PAT attributable to owners should increase by the entities’ NCI share, while total consolidated PAT would change only for acquisition-related financing costs, purchase accounting, or subsequent operating effects.

The specific contribution of the Stöferle entities to Endurance’s consolidated PAT in the most recent fiscal year is not reported in the cited disclosure. Therefore, the absolute PAT contribution and the corresponding percentage of consolidated PAT cannot be quantified from the available filing. The disclosure provides the ownership percentages and transaction value, but not entity-level profit or NCI attributable profit.

How does the profitability profile (EBITDA margins) of the Stöferle entities compare to Endurance Technologies' broader European operations, and does this full acquisition signal a shift in the company's strategy regarding the consolidation of its overseas subsidiaries?

The margin comparison cannot be made from the acquisition disclosure: it reports the ownership transaction but does not provide EBITDA or EBITDA-margin data for either the Stöferle entities or Endurance Technologies’ broader European operations. Accordingly, there is no evidence to conclude that Stöferle is more or less profitable than the rest of the European business.

What the transaction does establish

  • Endurance Overseas SpA previously held 68% of the Stöferle entities and agreed to acquire the remaining 32% for €18 million.[1] [1]
  • The original SPA contemplated acquiring that balance in equal tranches over four financial years, by June 2030; the amendment accelerates the acquisition into a full buyout.[1]
  • The transaction therefore changes the ownership and governance structure of Stöferle specifically, taking it from majority-owned to wholly owned on completion. This is an inference from the disclosed 68% existing stake and 32% balance stake.[1] [1]

Strategic interpretation

This is a clear shift toward faster consolidation and full control at Stöferle, rather than a change that can yet be generalized across all overseas subsidiaries. Buying out the minority earlier gives Endurance full economic participation and removes the need to manage a minority interest, but the disclosure does not state that the company has adopted a group-wide policy of consolidating all foreign subsidiaries.

The key unresolved issue is economic: without entity-level EBITDA, revenue, restructuring costs, or segment margins, the acquisition could represent either the consolidation of a strategically important operation or simply the completion of an ownership path already agreed in 2024. The €18 million upfront consideration, versus the previously contemplated €20.13 million, suggests the accelerated purchase was negotiated at a lower total consideration than originally envisaged, but it does not by itself establish the quality or margin accretion of the asset.[1]

Sources

  1. [1]Endurance Technologies Acquires Remaining 32% Stake in Stöferle Automotive and Stöferle GmbH for €18 Million — 2026-09-29T17:06:35.687000, p.1

Keep digging

Based on the €18 million consideration for the remaining 32% stake, what is the implied enterprise value of the Stöferle entities, and how does this valuation multiple compare to the initial acquisition cost paid by Endurance Technologies when they acquired the majority stake in 2018?

Ask Copilot
Logo

Unlock financial AI for your firm