MERGERS ACQUISITIONSFast Moving Consumer Goods

Dabur India Ltd. announces an acquisition

Dabur India Ltd.DABUR

TL;DR

The disclosed cash consideration is Rs 12.59 crore, but the all-in consideration cannot be quantified from the cited valuation extract because the total number of Sesa Care Class A and Class B shares—and therefore the number of Dabur shares to be issued—is not stated. Cash component: Dabur acquired 1,25,90,070 CRPS, representing 51% of Sesa Care’s paid-up preference share capital, for Rs 12,59,00,700, or Rs 12.59 crore, on 10 January 2025.

According to the valuation report and the sanctioned Scheme of Amalgamation, what is the total consideration payable for the acquisition of Sesa Care, and how does this impact Dabur India’s consolidated cash position or equity base?

The disclosed cash consideration is Rs 12.59 crore, but the all-in consideration cannot be quantified from the cited valuation extract because the total number of Sesa Care Class A and Class B shares—and therefore the number of Dabur shares to be issued—is not stated.

  • Cash component: Dabur acquired 1,25,90,070 CRPS, representing 51% of Sesa Care’s paid-up preference share capital, for Rs 12,59,00,700, or Rs 12.59 crore, on 10 January 2025. [1]
  • Valuation reference: The valuation report assigned a value of Rs 12.10 per CRPS, but that is a valuation input, not the price actually paid for the 51% CRPS stake. [2]
  • Scheme consideration: The valuation report recommended issuing 10 Dabur equity shares for every 146,779 Sesa Care Class A equity shares. [2] The sanctioned Scheme was approved by the NCLT on 24 September 2026, with an appointed date of 1 April 2026. [3]

Impact on Dabur

  • Consolidated cash: The identifiable cash outflow is the already-paid Rs 12.59 crore. The amalgamation consideration described in the valuation report is principally share-based, so it should not create an equivalent additional cash outflow, subject to the Scheme’s detailed implementation terms.
  • Equity base: Dabur’s equity base would increase by the number of new Dabur shares issued under the exchange ratio. This creates potential equity dilution but no cash outflow. The exact increase cannot be calculated without the total Class A and Class B shares covered by the Scheme.
  • Accounting distinction: The Rs 12.59 crore is the consideration for the earlier 51% CRPS acquisition; it should not be added mechanically to the notional value of shares issued under the amalgamation. The cited materials do not disclose a single aggregate rupee figure combining both components, nor the final number of Dabur shares to be issued.

Based on the financial statements of Sesa Care provided in the scheme documents, what is the revenue and EBITDA contribution of the acquired entity, and how does this acquisition alter the margin profile of Dabur’s existing hair care segment?

Sesa Care contributes reported turnover of Rs 133 Crores, but its EBITDA contribution cannot be determined from the disclosed scheme information. The transaction material gives Sesa’s consolidated turnover and gross margin, not its EBITDA, operating expenses or EBITDA margin. Therefore, gross profit should not be presented as EBITDA. [4]

Margin impact

  • Sesa gross margin: approximately 57%.
  • Dabur’s existing hair-oil gross margin: approximately 44%.
  • Gross-margin differential: approximately 13 percentage points in Sesa’s favour. [4]

On the transaction commentary’s approximate Rs 2,000 Crores existing Dabur hair-oil portfolio, adding Sesa’s Rs 133 Crores would make Sesa about 6.24% of the pro forma revenue pool (Rs 133 Crores / Rs 2,133 Crores, derived). Assuming the reported margins are comparable, the blended hair-oil gross margin would rise from approximately 44.00% to 44.81%, or by roughly 0.81 percentage points (derived from the reported revenue and gross-margin inputs). [4]

The strategic effect is therefore mix-led gross-margin accretion rather than a quantified EBITDA uplift. Sesa improves the segment’s premium mix, while Dabur indicated that procurement scale could potentially lift Sesa’s gross margin further; that is management’s forward-looking view, not a reported outcome. [4] The margin of Dabur’s existing products does not automatically change—the reported benefit is to the blended hair-oil portfolio margin after consolidation.

Caveat: the evidence supports a hair-oil gross-margin bridge, not a full hair-care-segment EBITDA bridge. A definitive EBITDA contribution and post-acquisition EBITDA margin require Sesa’s standalone EBITDA or operating-profit figures and Dabur’s segment-level EBITDA disclosure.

How does the Sesa Care product portfolio (specifically its therapeutic hair care positioning) compare to Dabur’s existing hair oil brands in terms of price points and target demographics, as outlined in the strategic rationale of the merger filing?

Sesa Care is positioned as a premium, therapeutic Ayurvedic hair-oil brand, whereas Dabur’s established Amla franchise is structured primarily around mass-market and economy price points. The portfolio therefore appears more complementary than directly overlapping.

The price ladder places Sesa well above Dabur Amla—approximately 3.8 times the Amla price per ml on the cited figures—but below the more expensive Indulekha benchmark. Sesa therefore occupies a mid-premium therapeutic tier, rather than either Dabur’s mass/economy segment or the market’s highest premium tier. [4]

The strategic rationale is the “white space” in Dabur’s existing portfolio: Dabur already has scale in coconut and perfumed oils, with Amla supported by economy flankers, but identified premium Ayurvedic therapeutic hair oil as an underrepresented segment. The rationale also points to a large unmet consumer pool: around 60% of consumers perceive a hair problem or hair fall, while therapeutic Ayurvedic hair oils have only about 6–7% penetration. [4]

Implication: Sesa is intended to broaden Dabur’s consumer reach upward—from routine, price-led hair-oil usage toward consumers willing to pay more for a problem-solution, Ayurveda-led proposition. It should complement rather than cannibalise Amla, although some overlap is possible among consumers seeking Ayurvedic hair-fall solutions. The cited rationale does not provide a precise age, income, or urban/rural demographic split; the demographic distinction is therefore best understood as mass/economy versus premium therapeutic need-state, not as a formally defined age cohort.

_Scope note: this comparison also included Colgate Palmolive (India) Ltd. (COLPAL); Cupid Limited (CUPID); Procter & Gamble Hygiene & Health Care Ltd. (PGHH); Gillette India Ltd. (GILLETTE), which the answer above does not cover. Ask about any of them for a full side-by-side._

PortfolioIndicative price pointTarget consumer positioning
Dabur AmlaAbout Rs 0.45 per mlMass-market/perfumed hair-oil consumer; Dabur describes it as a core “cash cow” brand.
Sarson Amla and Badam AmlaLower/economy flankers around the Amla franchisePrice-sensitive consumers and consumers shifting from unbranded oils; these brands provide an economy proposition around Dabur Amla.
Sesa CareAbout Rs 1.70 per mlConsumers seeking a premium Ayurvedic and therapeutic solution for hair problems, particularly hair fall.
Indulekha, cited as a market benchmarkAbout Rs 4.70 per mlHigher-premium therapeutic hair-care consumer.

Sources

  1. [1]T^aKur — Dabur, 2026-09-25T08:10:43.458506
  2. [2]Fairness Opinion - Sundae Capital Advisors Private Limited — Dabur, 2026-09-25T08:10:43.458512
  3. [3]NCLT Sanctions Scheme of Amalgamation of Sesa Care Private Limited with Dabur India Limited — 2026-09-25T11:32:41, p.1
  4. [4][PDF] A^. - ^w - Dabur — Dabur, 2026-09-25T08:11:56.315230

Keep digging

According to the valuation report and the sanctioned Scheme of Amalgamation, what is the total consideration payable for the acquisition of Sesa Care, and how does this impact Dabur India’s consolidated cash position or equity base?

Ask Copilot
Logo

Unlock financial AI for your firm