CREDIT RISK UPDATESPower

Clean Max Enviro Energy Solutions Limited sees a credit rating action

Clean Max Enviro Energy Solutions LimitedCLEANMAX

TL;DR

The coupon cannot yet be compared with WACD because neither the NCD coupon nor the reported WACD is disclosed in the cited material. The issuance announcement states that the coupon, tenor, allotment date and maturity will be decided later by the authorised committees.

Given the 'CRISIL AA/Stable' rating, how does the anticipated coupon rate for the proposed Rs. 2,500 Cr NCD issuance compare to the company's weighted average cost of debt (WACD) reported in the most recent financial statements, and does this signal a shift toward long-term debt financing?

The coupon cannot yet be compared with WACD because neither the NCD coupon nor the reported WACD is disclosed in the cited material. The issuance announcement states that the coupon, tenor, allotment date and maturity will be decided later by the authorised committees. It only confirms a proposed issue of up to Rs 2,500 Crores of listed, rated, secured, redeemable NCDs through private placement. [1]

Also, the cited rating upgrade is CARE AA-/Stable, not CRISIL AA/Stable. [2]

What can be concluded

  • Coupon versus WACD: No valid spread or saving can be calculated. The latest structured financial data reports total consolidated debt of Rs 12,410.8 Crores and non-current borrowings of Rs 11,312.4 Crores for FY26, but does not report the absolute finance cost or WACD. [3] [4]
  • Existing debt tenor: Non-current borrowings represented approximately 91.15% of total consolidated debt, derived from Rs 11,312.4 Crores divided by Rs 12,410.8 Crores. [4] [3] This already indicates a predominantly long-term debt structure.
  • Financing mix: The proposed NCD would signal a move toward bond-market funding and potentially longer-tenor debt, but not necessarily a shift toward long-term debt financing until the tenor and refinancing purpose are specified. The announcement leaves both maturity and tenor undecided. [1]

Analyst read: The rating upgrade may improve access to, and potentially pricing of, debt capital, but it does not by itself establish that the proposed coupon will be below WACD. The stronger conclusion is that CleanMax is expanding its capital-markets funding options; whether this changes the debt-tenor mix remains unproven, particularly because long-term borrowings already dominate the reported consolidated debt structure.

How does the proposed Rs. 2,500 Cr NCD issuance align with the company's current debt-to-equity ratio and existing debt maturity profile as disclosed in the latest filings, and what is the projected impact on the interest coverage ratio?

The proposed Rs 2,500 Cr NCD issue would increase gross leverage materially unless most of the proceeds refinance existing debt. Based on the latest consolidated FY26 metrics, gross debt/equity is 2.68x and net debt/equity is 2.42x; the company also reports an interest coverage ratio of 1.94x. [5] [6] [7]

Leverage impact

The proposal is for Rs 2,500 Cr of NCDs, with approximately Rs 1,100 Cr intended for debt refinancing. [8] Using reported consolidated total debt of Rs 12,410.8 Cr and total equity of Rs 4,638.3 Cr, the mechanical leverage outcomes are:

Notes: † assumes the full issue increases net debt rather than remaining as cash. ‡ assumes the Rs 1,100 Cr refinancing replaces existing debt at face value and the remaining Rs 1,400 Cr is deployed.

Accordingly, the transaction appears to be part refinancing and part new borrowing, rather than a deleveraging transaction. If the Rs 1,100 Cr refinancing is executed as described and the remaining Rs 1,400 Cr funds growth or capex, gross debt/equity would rise from 2.68x to approximately 2.98x. If the entire issue is incremental, it would rise to approximately 3.21x.

Maturity-profile alignment

The proposal has some refinancing rationale: the company completed early redemption of Rs 499 Cr of NCDs on 2 April 2026, ahead of their scheduled 8 June 2027 maturity. [10] This removes one identified future maturity, while the proposed Rs 1,100 Cr refinancing could further extend or smooth maturities.

However, a complete debt-maturity ladder, the maturities being refinanced, and the proposed NCD coupon or tenor are not disclosed in the cited material. Therefore, it is not possible to determine whether the issue materially reduces near-term refinancing concentration or simply replaces one liability with another.

Interest coverage implication

The current consolidated interest coverage ratio is 1.94x. [7] On a constant-EBIT basis, additional NCD interest would reduce this ratio unless refinancing produces sufficient interest savings.

The relevant calculation is:

`Projected interest coverage = EBIT / (existing interest expense + new NCD interest − interest saved on refinanced debt)`

An exact projected ratio cannot be calculated because the NCD coupon, existing interest cost on the Rs 1,100 Cr being refinanced, issue timing, and forward EBIT are not disclosed. The directional conclusion is therefore:

  • All Rs 2,500 Cr incremental: interest coverage would fall below 1.94x if operating earnings are unchanged.
  • Rs 1,100 Cr refinancing plus Rs 1,400 Cr new borrowing: the decline would be smaller, and could be limited if the new NCD carries a lower rate than the refinanced debt.
  • No operating earnings uplift or meaningful refinancing savings: the already modest 1.94x coverage would become weaker as leverage rises.
ScenarioGross debtGross debt/equityNet debt/equityBasis
CurrentRs 12,410.8 Cr [3]2.68x [5]2.42x [6]Reported FY26 consolidated
Entire Rs 2,500 Cr is incrementalRs 14,910.8 Cr3.21x2.96x†Derived using reported equity of Rs 4,638.3 Cr [9]
Rs 1,100 Cr refinances debt; Rs 1,400 Cr is deployedRs 13,810.8 Cr2.98x2.72x‡Derived; assumes no equity change and residual proceeds are deployed

Based on the company's latest project pipeline disclosures, what specific capacity expansion targets (in MW) is this Rs. 2,500 Cr capital raise intended to fund, and how does this align with the capital expenditure (capex) guidance provided in the most recent annual report?

The disclosed evidence does not support a direct mapping of the Rs 2,500 Cr raise to a specific MW target. The latest project disclosures instead link a larger planned capex programme of around Rs 7,000 Crores to an additional 1,500 MW of solar and wind energy-sales capacity by FY27. [11]

Alignment with capex guidance: directionally, the proposed Rs 2,500 Cr raise would support the company’s broader capacity build-out, but the disclosed figures do not establish that it funds a particular tranche of the 1,500 MW target. A simple pro-rata allocation would imply roughly 536 MW, but that would be an unsupported assumption because renewable-project funding is not necessarily proportional across solar, wind, hybrid, state, or project-stage pipelines.

The most recent FY26 audited-results release supports a FY27 commissioning target above 1.5 GW, while the separate Rs 7,000 Crores capex plan supports a 1,500 MW addition target. [12] The release does not identify a Rs 2,500 Crores raise or provide a project-wise capex allocation. Therefore, the defensible conclusion is:

  • Capacity target explicitly tied to the capex programme: approximately 1,500 MW by FY27.
  • Capacity specifically tied to the Rs 2,500 Cr raise: not disclosed.
  • Broader execution pool: approximately 2.6 GW of contracted yet-to-be-executed capacity as of 31 March 2026. [12]
  • Capex alignment: strategically consistent with the FY27 commissioning ambition, but not sufficiently itemised to establish a precise MW funded per Rs 2,500 Crores.
DisclosureCapacity targetFunding or capex referenceInterpretation
FY27 expansion plan1,500 MWAround Rs 7,000 Crores planned capexCompany-level target for the next financial year [11]
FY27 commissioning guidanceMore than 1.5 GWCapex amount not specified in the filing releaseConsistent with the 1,500 MW expansion objective [12]
Contracted but unexecuted pipeline at 31 March 20262.6 GWNo specific funding allocation disclosedRepresents the broader execution opportunity, not necessarily the amount funded by the raise [12]
Separate debt funding disclosureAbout 1 GWAbout USD 575 million raised for projects in Rajasthan and KarnatakaThis is a different funding announcement and is not reported as Rs 2,500 Crores [13]

Sources

  1. [1]BSE LimitedNsearchives, 2026-07-31T00:00:00
  2. [2]CLEANMAX SECURES CREDIT RATING UPGRADE TO AA-/STABLE FROM CARE RATINGS LIMITED About Clean Max Enviro Energy Solutions Limited Enviro EnergyCdn, 2026-05-20T00:00:00
  3. [3]Total Debt
  4. [4]Non-Current Borrowings
  5. [5]Gross Debt to Equity
  6. [6]Net Debt to Equity
  7. [7]Interest Coverage Ratio
  8. [8]BSE Limited Phiroze Jeejeebhoy Towers Dalal Street ...Nsearchives, 2026-09-08T04:02:21.747977
  9. [9]Total Equity
  10. [10]Clean Max Enviro Energy Solutions Completes Early Redemption of ₹499 Crore Non-Convertible DebenturesScanx, 2026-04-02T00:00:00
  11. [11]Clean Max plans ₹7,000 crore capex to ramp up energy sales capacity by 1500 MW by FY27 - The HinduBusinessLineThe Hindu BusinessLine, 2026-03-25T00:00:00
  12. [12]BSE LimitedCdn, 2026-05-12T00:00:00
  13. [13]Indian renewable power firm Clean Max raises about $575 millionSg, 2026-05-26T00:00:00

Keep digging

Given the 'CRISIL AA/Stable' rating, how does the anticipated coupon rate for the proposed Rs. 2,500 Cr NCD issuance compare to the company's weighted average cost of debt (WACD) reported in the most recent financial statements, and does this signal a shift toward long-term debt financing?

Ask Copilot
Logo

Unlock financial AI for your firm