CAPITAL STRUCTUREPower

Clean Max Enviro Energy Solutions Limited moves to reshape its capital structure

Clean Max Enviro Energy Solutions LimitedCLEANMAX

TL;DR

The green bond’s pricing and tenor can be stated, but the requested comparison cannot be quantified because the latest annual report’s WACD and average maturity figures are not reported in the available evidence. Analytical read The issue creates a fixed-rate funding band of 8.25%–8.76%, but it cannot be labelled cheaper or more expensive than the company’s WACD without the annual-report WACD and a consistent basis for comparison.

How does the coupon rate and tenor of this ₹2,500 crore green bond issuance compare to the weighted average cost of debt (WACD) and the average maturity profile of the company's existing long-term borrowings as disclosed in the latest annual report?

The green bond’s pricing and tenor can be stated, but the requested comparison cannot be quantified because the latest annual report’s WACD and average maturity figures are not reported in the available evidence.

Analytical read

  • The issue creates a fixed-rate funding band of 8.25%–8.76%, but it cannot be labelled cheaper or more expensive than the company’s WACD without the annual-report WACD and a consistent basis for comparison.
  • The 10-year tranche is clearly long-dated, but the overall issuance’s average tenor cannot be calculated because the amount allocated to each of the five series is not disclosed. Therefore, it is also not possible to measure how much the issue extends the maturity profile relative to existing long-term borrowings.
  • The comparison is also not perfectly like-for-like: WACD is a portfolio-level historical cost measure, whereas the bond coupon is the contractual cost of a new, secured, fixed-rate instrument. The bond’s security, rating and structure may make its coupon different from the existing borrowing portfolio even if the underlying credit risk is unchanged.

Bottom line: the issuance locks in long-term funding at 8.25%–8.76%, with maturities extending to 10 years [1]. A numerical comparison against WACD, or a conclusion that it lengthens the average debt maturity, requires the latest annual report’s WACD, maturity schedule and—ideally—series-wise bond allotments.

MetricGreen bond issuanceExisting borrowings comparison
CouponFixed 8.25%–8.76% across five series [1]WACD figure required to calculate the premium or discount
Tenor2–10 years across five series [1]Average maturity of existing long-term borrowings required to assess tenor extension
AmountRs 2,500 Crores [1]No series-wise allocation, so weighted-average coupon and tenor cannot be derived

As this is positioned as India's first green bond for the C&I renewable sector, how does the pricing and security structure of this issuance compare to the project-level financing terms typically utilized by the company and its direct competitors in the C&I space?

Verdict: CleanMax’s issuance is priced as secured, rated portfolio-level capital-market debt, not as conventional single-project finance. Its 8.25%-8.76% fixed coupons across two- to ten-year series sit above the approximately 7.7% rate reported for BluPine’s 16-20-year renewable portfolio loan, but the comparison is not like-for-like because the tenor, borrower structure, collateral package and cash-flow ring-fencing differ. [2] [3]

Structure and pricing comparison

What is different about CleanMax

  • The security is secured but not apparently single-project collateral. CleanMax’s lock-box structure gives lenders control over designated cash flows, while the green-use-of-proceeds framework covers multiple technologies and projects. This is broader than the usual project-finance package built around one SPV’s assets, contracts and accounts. [1] [1] [5]
  • The credit underwriting is broader than project-only underwriting. The NCD programme and CleanMax’s corporate credit both carry a CRISIL AA/Stable rating, and management described the transaction as a way to move beyond project-level financing and access a wider institutional investor base. [1] [2] That should support tighter pricing than an equivalent construction-stage project loan, although the ten-year tranche still carries duration and portfolio-execution risk.
  • The coupon is fixed for longer-dated capital. Project loans often provide longer legal maturities but may involve construction-period pricing, refinancing points, amortisation and asset-level covenants. CleanMax has instead locked in fixed-rate funding, including the longest ten-year maturity, reducing exposure to future rate volatility but potentially increasing the issuer’s cost if rates fall. [2]
  • The relevant economic comparison is not simply “8.25%-8.76% versus 7.7%.” BluPine’s reported 7.7% loan has a much longer 16-20-year repayment profile and security over 17 SPVs, while CleanMax’s disclosed coupon range spans several maturities. Without tranche-level coupons, amortisation schedules, debt-service reserves, guarantees, collateral-value tests and intercreditor terms, the relative all-in cost cannot be ranked precisely.

Position of the named listed comparators

NAVA

A comparable C&I renewable project-financing coupon, tenor or security package was not reported in the cited material.

Juniper Green Energy

A comparable project-level financing term sheet was not reported in the cited material.

Vedanta Power

A comparable C&I project-financing term sheet was not reported in the cited material.

Jaiprakash Power Ventures

A comparable C&I project-financing term sheet was not reported in the cited material.

SJVN

SJVN is a utility-scale power developer rather than a directly comparable C&I financing benchmark in the cited evidence. Its rating commentary refers to a Government of India guarantee for World Bank borrowings related to the Rampur hydro project, but does not disclose a comparable coupon or security package for C&I renewable financing. [6]

Implication: CleanMax’s transaction appears to be a hybrid between corporate and project finance: it retains secured cash-control through the lock-box, but raises capital against the issuer’s broader contracted portfolio rather than a single project. Relative to ordinary project loans, it offers greater funding flexibility and diversification; relative to unsecured corporate debt, it provides stronger lender protection. The main unresolved issue is the exact collateral and cash-waterfall package, which determines how much protection bondholders have if individual projects underperform or cash is trapped below the issuer level.

Financing formatPricing and tenorSecurity / repayment basisAnalytical read
CleanMax green NCDsFixed coupons of 8.25%-8.76%; five series with maturities from 2 to 10 years [2]Secured, listed, redeemable NCDs with a lock-box mechanism; proceeds may finance or refinance solar, wind, hybrid and battery-storage projects [1]Diversified portfolio financing with institutional-market access rather than a single-asset loan
BluPine renewable portfolio loanApproximately 7.7%; 16-20-year repayment period [3]Secured against a portfolio of 17 renewable SPVs; used to refinance existing debt [3]Longer tenor and project/SPV-linked security; the reported rate is approximately 55-106 basis points below CleanMax’s coupon range, but is not a clean spread comparison
Avaada project finance precedent8.40% per annum for five years for 300 MW financing; a separate 20-year facility was under discussion and was not finalised in the report [4]Bank loans for a defined project; the later 20-year facility was intended for a project backed by a 25-year PPA [4]Shows that project debt pricing can overlap with CleanMax’s bond range, but the disclosed 8.40% facility is shorter and project-specific
Typical project financeUsually negotiated asset by asset; pricing depends on PPA quality, construction status, counterparty, leverage and refinancing riskGenerally secured by the project company’s assets, contracts, accounts, related rights and shares, with repayment based primarily on that project’s cash flows [5]More tightly ring-fenced and potentially more insulated from the sponsor’s wider portfolio, but less flexible for funding multiple assets

Sources

  1. [1]CleanMax Raises ₹2,500 Crore Through India's First Green Bond Issuance for C&I Renewable Sector — 2026-09-28T16:02:56, p.2
  2. [2]CleanMax Raises ₹2,500 Crore Through India's First Green Bond Issuance for C&I Renewable Sector — 2026-09-28T16:02:56, p.3
  3. [3]BluPine Energy And SJVN Sign PPA For 150 MW Assured Peak Power Supply — Megaproject, 2026-07-03T00:00:00
  4. [4]Avaada Group in Discussions with Standard Chartered, SMBC to Raise $700 Million for SJVN Solar-Wind Hybrid Project — Angelone, 2026-01-21T00:00:00
  5. [5]Project Finance, Holdco Finance and NAV Facilities in Energy: How the Capital Stack Fits Together | Insights | Jones Day — Jonesday, 2026-07-17T00:00:00
  6. [6]SJVN Limited — Careratings, 2026-09-11T00:00:00

Keep digging

How does the coupon rate and tenor of this ₹2,500 crore green bond issuance compare to the weighted average cost of debt (WACD) and the average maturity profile of the company's existing long-term borrowings as disclosed in the latest annual report?

Ask Copilot
Logo

Unlock financial AI for your firm