GUIDANCE OUTLOOKPower

CESC Ltd. issues fresh guidance

CESC Ltd.CESC

TL;DR

Vision 2030 implies a renewable capacity target of roughly 4.7x CESC’s existing thermal capacity. CESC reports 2,140 MW of thermal generation capacity and a medium-term renewable target of 10 GW.

Within the Vision 2030 strategic roadmap, what is the specific target for the renewable energy portfolio mix relative to the existing thermal generation capacity, and how does this shift impact the projected contribution of regulated vs. non-regulated revenue streams compared to the FY24 segment reporting?

Vision 2030 implies a renewable capacity target of roughly 4.7x CESC’s existing thermal capacity. CESC reports 2,140 MW of thermal generation capacity and a medium-term renewable target of 10 GW. On a simple nameplate-capacity comparison, 10 GW of renewables would equal approximately 4.67x the thermal base; renewables would represent about 82.4% of the combined 12.14 GW portfolio, versus 17.6% thermal. This is a capacity comparison, not a generation-output mix, since renewable capacity is reported in GWp and has lower utilisation than thermal capacity. [1] [2]

Revenue-mix implication: the roadmap points to a greater future role for non-regulated or commercially contracted renewable-generation revenue, but it does not provide a quantified target for regulated versus non-regulated revenue or a directly comparable FY24 segment bridge.

The strategic direction is nevertheless clear: CESC plans more than Rs 26,000 Crores of renewable investment, alongside Rs 6,000 Crores for distribution infrastructure intended to expand regulated equity and distribution capacity. [2] The roadmap also explicitly links growth to renewable contractual capacity, future bid wins, distribution expansion and a reduction in regulatory assets. [4]

Therefore, compared with the FY24 segment structure, the expected mix is qualitatively more diversified toward renewable generation and other non-regulated growth activities, while regulated distribution remains an important cash-flow and equity-growth anchor. However, renewable PPAs should not automatically be treated as “non-regulated” revenue, and the presentation does not disclose the FY24 regulated/non-regulated revenue percentages or a 2030 projected split. The precise percentage-point change in contribution cannot therefore be calculated from the reported material.

Capacity positionRenewableThermalInterpretation
Existing/current platform4.8 GWp total portfolio, including 1.8 GWp operational and 3.0 GWp under implementation [3]2,140 MW [1]Renewables already equal roughly 2.24x thermal capacity on a nameplate basis; derived
Vision 2030 target10 GW medium-term target [2]Existing thermal base used for comparisonRenewables would be roughly 4.67x thermal; derived

The Vision 2030 roadmap outlines a significant capacity expansion; what is the projected capital expenditure (Capex) outlay for the next 3-5 years, and how does this align with the company's current debt-to-equity ratio and existing credit facilities as disclosed in the latest annual report?

CESC’s Vision 2030 implies approximately Rs 35,000 Cr of capex over the next five years; it does not disclose a separate three-year budget. The plan is substantial relative to the current balance sheet: FY26 consolidated gross debt-to-equity was 1.70x and net debt-to-equity was 1.37x, so execution appears to depend on sustained operating cash generation, project-level financing and/or refinancing rather than existing cash alone.

Capex roadmap

The renewable allocation is also described as Rs 26,000+ Cr of committed capex for the 4.8 GWp contracted capacity [6]. The two specifically identified buckets therefore represent at least Rs 32,000 Cr; the presentation does not provide a detailed bridge reconciling them to the approximately Rs 35,000 Cr headline, including any separate allocation for solar-cell and module manufacturing.

Leverage and funding alignment

Management’s funding argument is that FY26 operating cash flow was approximately Rs 4,000 Cr, up 57% year-on-year, supporting self-funded capex of approximately Rs 35,000 Cr over five years [5]. However, the cumulative roadmap capex is roughly 1.64x FY26 gross debt and 2.79x FY26 equity, calculated from the disclosed capex, debt and equity figures. This is a scale comparison, not a forecast of incremental borrowing.

Credit-facility disclosure: the annual-report evidence cited here does not separately quantify sanctioned bank facilities, drawn amounts, maturities or undrawn commitments. Consequently, the available credit headroom—and whether it is sufficient to supplement operating cash flow—cannot be established from the disclosed facility information. The central funding sensitivity is therefore whether cash flows ramp as planned while leverage remains manageable during the renewable and distribution build-out.

ComponentDisclosed outlayScope
Total five-year capexApproximately Rs 35,000 CrManagement presentation describes this as largely self-funded through cash generation [5]
Renewable expansionRs 26,000+ CrSupports the 4.8 GWp contracted renewable portfolio and expansion toward the 10 GW medium-term target [2]
Distribution infrastructureRs 6,000 CrInvestment across distribution licences and networks [2]
FY26 consolidated metricPosition
Gross debt-to-equity1.70x [7]
Net debt-to-equity1.37x [8]
Total debtRs 21,319 Cr [9]
Net debtRs 17,111 Cr [10]
Cash and equivalentsRs 4,208 Cr [11]
Total equityRs 12,530 Cr [12]
Interest coverage2.55x [13]

How do the capacity addition targets set out in the Vision 2030 roadmap compare to the company's historical annual capacity growth rate, and what specific regulatory approvals or Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs) are currently in place to support the execution of these new projects?

Vision 2030 implies a material acceleration, but CESC has not reported a historical annual renewable-capacity growth series against which to make a precise like-for-like comparison. The roadmap implies roughly 3 GWp of additions between FY27 and FY30, taking capacity from 2.2 GWp in FY27 to approximately 4.8 GWp by FY30. Mechanically, that is an implied CAGR of approximately 29.70%, not a historical reported growth rate. The longer-term 10 GW target would require a further 5.2 GW beyond the 4.8 GWp contracted portfolio. [6]

Roadmap pace versus the existing base

The comparison should not be made against CESC’s 2,140 MW thermal fleet, because that is a current thermal-capacity snapshot rather than a historical renewable-capacity series. [1] The appropriate conclusion is therefore directional: the plan represents a high-growth renewable build-out, but the company’s historical annual capacity-growth rate—and hence the extent of acceleration versus history—is not established by the reported material.

PPAs and approvals supporting execution

Firm contractual support is already meaningful:

  • CESC’s roadmap project table identifies signed PPAs for a 300 MW solar project, 300 MW and 300 MW hybrid projects, a 180 MW RTC project, a 250 MW wind project and a 300 MW solar-plus-BESS project. Their stated CODs range from operational status to FY30. [14]
  • The same table identifies a further 175 MW wind project and a 70 MW RTC project for FY30 where an LOA has been received, rather than a signed PPA. These should therefore be treated as less advanced than the signed-PPA projects. [14]
  • The presentation separately labels 3,465 MW AC of the broader project portfolio as having signed PPAs. [3]

The most specific executed contracting disclosed is CESC’s 600 MW wind-solar hybrid procurement:

The regulatory foundation for this 600 MW procurement is a West Bengal Electricity Regulatory Commission prior approval under Section 63 for long-term procurement of grid-connected wind-solar hybrid power. [16] A separate WBERC order also approved a 100 MW PPA dated 16 April 2026 with Diyos Five Renewables, identified in the order as DFRPL; the project has a 2:1 wind-to-solar configuration, a 50% annual CUF and a 25-year term. [16]

Execution caveats

  • Connectivity is not fully equivalent to regulatory approval: Purvah Green has applied for 10.4 GW of connectivity, while 15,700 acres are under acquisition and 3.8 GW of land is stated to be secured. [3]
  • A separate 300 MW PPA approval process was discontinued by CESC and treated as infructuous by WBERC because the underlying CERC tariff-adoption order had not attained finality. That 300 MW should not be counted as an active approval supporting execution. [17]
  • Accordingly, the roadmap has substantial PPA backing, but the 10 GW ambition still depends on additional bid wins, connectivity approvals, land conversion and commissioning—not merely on the currently contracted portfolio.
Roadmap milestoneCapacity addition or baseImplied interpretation
FY272.2 GWp, including 1.8 GWp operational and 0.4 GWp under implementation [6]Initial build-out phase
FY28+0.6 GWp [6]Addition equivalent to approximately 33.33% of the FY27 operating base, derived
FY29Approximately +1 GWp [6]Addition equivalent to approximately 55.56% of the FY27 operating base, derived
FY30Approximately +1 GWp [6]Addition equivalent to approximately 55.56% of the FY27 operating base, derived
Medium term10 GW target versus 4.8 GWp contracted [6]5.2 GW incremental capacity still required, derived
BidderContracted capacityTariffStatus
Vismaya Renewable India Project100 MWRs 3.74/kWhPPA executed on 16 April 2026 [15]
Hexa Climate Solutions100 MWRs 3.75/kWhPPA executed on 16 April 2026 [15]
Purvah Green Power300 MWRs 3.75/kWhPPA executed on 16 April 2026 [15]
Sprng Energy100 MWRs 3.75/kWhPPA executed on 16 April 2026 [15]

Sources

  1. [1]CESC Limited Investor Presentation: Vision 2030 and Strategic Growth Roadmap2026-09-18T12:01:29.400000, p.4
  2. [2]CESC Limited Investor Presentation: Vision 2030 and Strategic Growth Roadmap2026-09-18T12:01:29.400000, p.7
  3. [3]CESC Limited Investor Presentation: Vision 2030 and Strategic Growth Roadmap2026-09-18T12:01:29.400000, p.19
  4. [4]CESC Limited Investor Presentation: Vision 2030 and Strategic Growth Roadmap2026-09-18T12:01:29.400000, p.6
  5. [5]CESC Limited Investor Presentation: Vision 2030 and Strategic Growth Roadmap2026-09-18T12:01:29.400000, p.26
  6. [6]CESC Limited Investor Presentation: Vision 2030 and Strategic Growth Roadmap2026-09-18T12:01:29.400000, p.21
  7. [7]Debt Equity Ratio
  8. [8]Net Debt to Equity
  9. [9]Total Debt
  10. [10]Net Debt
  11. [11]Cash and Equivalents
  12. [12]Total Equity
  13. [13]Interest Coverage Ratio
  14. [14]CESC Limited Investor Presentation: Vision 2030 and Strategic Growth Roadmap2026-09-18T12:01:29.400000, p.22
  15. [15]NOTICE Subject: Execution of Power Purchase Agreements for procurement of capacity equivalent to 600 MW from Wind-Solar Hybrid Power ProjectsCesc, 2026-04-17T00:00:00
  16. [16]Electricity - CommissWberc, 2026-09-18T16:07:33.145473
  17. [17]https://wberc.gov.in/sites/default/files/PPA-141_25-26.pdfWberc, 2026-09-18T16:07:33.145479

Keep digging

Within the Vision 2030 strategic roadmap, what is the specific target for the renewable energy portfolio mix relative to the existing thermal generation capacity, and how does this shift impact the projected contribution of regulated vs. non-regulated revenue streams compared to the FY24 segment reporting?

Ask Copilot
Logo

Unlock financial AI for your firm