CAPITAL STRUCTUREFinancial Services

Canara Bank moves to reshape its capital structure

Canara BankCANBK

TL;DR

The Rs 2,042 Crore issuance’s accretion to Canara Bank’s Tier-I ratio cannot be quantified from the cited disclosures, nor can it be compared reliably with the bank’s internal capital-planning targets. The required investor-presentation figures—risk-weighted assets, the eligible Tier-I amount, and the internal target range—are not present in the retrieved material.

How much is this Rs. 2,042 Cr issuance expected to accrete to Canara Bank’s Tier I capital adequacy ratio, and how does this buffer compare to the bank's internal capital planning targets disclosed in the latest investor presentation?

The Rs 2,042 Crore issuance’s accretion to Canara Bank’s Tier-I ratio cannot be quantified from the cited disclosures, nor can it be compared reliably with the bank’s internal capital-planning targets. The required investor-presentation figures—risk-weighted assets, the eligible Tier-I amount, and the internal target range—are not present in the retrieved material.

  • Closest reported capital position: As of June 2026, Canara Bank reported CRAR of 17.17%, comprising CET1 of 12.91%, Tier-I capital of 2.09% and Tier-II capital of 2.17% in the cited breakdown. The 2.09% figure appears to be the additional Tier-I component rather than total Tier-I, since the components sum to CRAR. [1]
  • Calculation required: expected Tier-I accretion = eligible AT1 issuance / risk-weighted assets. Therefore, the Rs 2,042 Crore amount alone is insufficient; the relevant RWA denominator and confirmation that the full issuance qualifies as regulatory AT1 capital are needed.
  • Target comparison: The latest investor-presentation capital buffer or internal target is not reproduced in the cited material, so it is not possible to determine whether the issuance takes Canara Bank above, within, or below that target.
  • Important distinction: The reported June 2026 capital position should not be treated as the post-issuance position; the issuance-related uplift remains unquantified.

How does the 8.10% coupon rate on this issuance compare to the yields on Canara Bank’s outstanding AT1 bonds and recent issuances by comparable public sector banks, and what does this imply about the bank's current cost of raising perpetual capital?

Verdict: The 8.10% coupon is modestly expensive relative to Canara Bank’s own previously disclosed AT1 cash cost and SBI’s latest AT1 issuance, but it is not an extreme outlier. It suggests that Canara Bank’s marginal cost of raising fresh perpetual capital has risen by roughly 11–35 bps versus the closest available benchmarks.

Canara’s earlier AT1 series paid Rs 159.80 crore on a Rs 2,000 crore issue, which mechanically implies an annual coupon of approximately 7.99% [2]. The new issue was allotted at an 8.10% coupon on 18 September 2026 [3]. The comparison therefore indicates an 11-bps increase in Canara’s stated cash cost, although the older instrument’s actual market yield cannot be determined without its trading price and yield-to-call assumptions.

The more relevant recent primary-market comparison is SBI’s 7.75% AT1 issue, which raised Rs 4,691 crore at a cutoff yield of 7.75% on 29 July 2026 [4]. Canara’s 8.10% coupon is consequently 35 bps higher. Both issues were reported as AA+ instruments with stable outlooks, though the ratings were assigned by different agencies [5] [4]; the spread therefore cannot be attributed solely to a rating difference. Issue timing, investor demand, liquidity, call structure and bank-specific pricing would also matter.

The final coupon was also above the 7.85–7.90% range reported as the market expectation before the issue [6]. That repricing, combined with Canara accepting Rs 2,042 crore against a total issue size of Rs 4,500 crore, is consistent with investors requiring somewhat more compensation than initially anticipated [3]. It does not, by itself, establish weak demand because the bank may have chosen not to exercise the full green-shoe option.

Coverage of other public-sector peers

  • Indian Bank: A recent comparable AT1 coupon or yield is not reported.
  • Bank of Baroda: The bank had approved a plan to raise up to Rs 6,000 crore through AT1 and/or Tier II bonds, but the cited report does not provide a completed AT1 pricing benchmark [7].
  • Punjab National Bank: A recent comparable AT1 coupon or yield is not reported.
  • Union Bank of India: A recent comparable AT1 coupon or yield is not reported; the available item concerns AT1-rating withdrawal rather than issuance pricing [8].
  • Bank of Maharashtra: A recent comparable AT1 coupon or yield is not reported.

Funding implication: At 8.10%, the accepted Rs 2,042 crore tranche represents a stated annual coupon obligation of approximately Rs 165.40 crore, calculated as Rs 2,042 crore × 8.10% [3]. This is the bank’s current observable primary-market cost for this tranche, but not an equivalent senior-debt funding cost: AT1 instruments are perpetual, subordinated, loss-absorbing and carry coupon-discretion risk [9]. The appropriate conclusion is therefore a modestly higher marginal cost of perpetual capital, rather than a definitive market-wide repricing, given that only SBI provides a directly comparable recent issuance benchmark.

BenchmarkReported pricingComparison with Canara’s 8.10%Interpretation
Canara Bank’s earlier AT1 issueRs 159.80 crore annual interest on Rs 2,000 crore, implying approximately 7.99%+11 bpsHigher than its own implied coupon, but this is not a secondary-market yield
SBI AT1 issuance, 29 July 20267.75% cutoff yield on Rs 4,691 crore+35 bpsCanara paid a clear premium to the latest large-PSU benchmark
Pre-issue market expectation for Canara7.85–7.90%Final coupon +20–25 bpsFinal pricing was firmer than the expected range
Bank of BarodaAT1 and/or Tier II issue was planned, but no completed AT1 coupon was reportedN/ANot a usable primary-market benchmark

Per the Information Memorandum filed for this issuance, what are the specific terms regarding the call option date and the 'Point of Non-Viability' (PONV) trigger events that could necessitate a principal write-down?

The available issuance filing does not state the specific call-option date or the PONV trigger events.

  • Call option: The bonds are described as perpetual, with the “Date of Redemption” shown as Perpetual; no first call date or issuer call-option date is specified in the issuance terms table. [3]
  • PONV and principal write-down: The cited filing does not reproduce the Information Memorandum’s PONV provisions, including the trigger events, write-down mechanism, or whether the write-down would be temporary or permanent. These terms therefore cannot be stated reliably from the exchange announcement alone.

The relevant terms would need to be taken directly from the Information Memorandum, rather than inferred from the bond being a Basel III Additional Tier I instrument.

Sources

  1. [1][PDF] Global Business Up by 14.37% YoY Global Deposit up by 11.63 ...Canarabank, 2026-07-27T00:00:00
  2. [2]Canara Bank Pays ₹159.80 Crore Annual Interest on AT-1 Bonds on TimePsuconnect, 2026-09-15T00:00:00
  3. [3]Canara Bank raises Rs.2,042 Cr via 8.10% Basel III Additional Tier I Bonds2026-09-19T03:48:00.020000, p.1
  4. [4]SBI raises ₹4,691 crore via AT-I bonds at 7.75%, first issuance in FY27 | Markets News - Business StandardBusiness Standard, 2026-07-29T00:00:00
  5. [5]News by CNBC TV18 on TradingView, 2026-09-10 — cnbctv:3c6fc700a094b:0TradingView, 2026-09-10T00:00:00
  6. [6]Canara Bank to raise up to ₹4500 crore via AT1 bonds ...Business Standard, 2026-09-10T00:00:00
  7. [7]Bank of Baroda Eyes ₹6,000 Crore Bond Issue; Key Committee Meets AugPsuconnect, 2026-08-04T00:00:00
  8. [8]Union Bank of India Secures AAA Reaffirmation on Tier II ...Theglobeandmail, 2026-09-19T00:00:00
  9. [9]Bank Bonds in India 2026: Buy on GoldenPiGoldenpi, 2026-09-19T08:05:46.980867

Keep digging

How much is this Rs. 2,042 Cr issuance expected to accrete to Canara Bank’s Tier I capital adequacy ratio, and how does this buffer compare to the bank's internal capital planning targets disclosed in the latest investor presentation?

Ask Copilot
Logo

Unlock financial AI for your firm