MAJOR CONTRACTS CAPEX

Afcom Holdings announces a new order win

Afcom HoldingsAFCOM

TL;DR

No specific credit terms or volume-based discount schedule is disclosed. The HPCL announcement says the agreement is long-term, follows IATA Model Terms, is supported by a location agreement, and provides “secured and competitively priced” Jet A-1 supply across HPCL’s network; it does not state payment days, credit limits, advance-payment requirements, price formulas, volume tiers, rebates, or minimum-purchase commitments.

Does the agreement with HPCL stipulate specific credit terms or volume-based pricing discounts that differ from the spot-market procurement Afcom Holdings has utilized historically, and how do these terms impact the company's working capital cycle?

No specific credit terms or volume-based discount schedule is disclosed. The HPCL announcement says the agreement is long-term, follows IATA Model Terms, is supported by a location agreement, and provides “secured and competitively priced” Jet A-1 supply across HPCL’s network; it does not state payment days, credit limits, advance-payment requirements, price formulas, volume tiers, rebates, or minimum-purchase commitments. [1]

A secondary market summary characterizes the change as moving from localized or short-term spot purchases to a single long-term supply framework, but the company announcement does not quantify Afcom’s historical spot procurement or provide a like-for-like price comparison. [2]

Working-capital implication: the direction is therefore conditional, not yet measurable.

  • If HPCL grants payment credit: higher fuel payables would defer cash settlement and could lengthen the payable period, reducing the cash conversion burden.
  • If the agreement requires prepayment, deposits, or firm minimum volumes: cash could be tied up earlier, potentially worsening working-capital intensity despite supply security.
  • If the benefit is only a negotiated unit-price reduction: it would lower fuel cash outflow and operating cost per unit, but would not by itself change the working-capital cycle or payable days.
  • Operationally: one nationwide supply framework may reduce procurement friction and supply disruption risk, but that is not equivalent to a disclosed financing benefit. [1]

Accordingly, the agreement supports supply visibility and may improve fuel-cost economics, but there is currently no evidence to quantify an improvement in Afcom’s working-capital cycle. The decisive disclosures would be payment terms, security deposits, minimum-volume obligations, the pricing benchmark, and actual fuel payables after implementation.

_Scope note: this comparison also included Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Ltd. (HINDPETRO), which the answer above does not cover. Ask about any of them for a full side-by-side._

What is the total volume commitment or fleet coverage defined under this long-term agreement, and does the contract include 'take-or-pay' clauses or minimum off-take requirements that could impact the company's cash flow obligations during periods of low cargo demand?

The agreement defines network coverage, not a disclosed fuel volume or aircraft count. Afcom’s announcement says HPCL will supply Jet A-1 across its pan-India aviation-fuelling network under an IATA Model Terms framework and a location agreement, supporting Afcom’s current and future network requirements. It does not state a total fuel-volume commitment, number of aircraft covered, contract value, or minimum annual purchase quantity. [1]

The announcement also contains no stated take-or-pay clause, minimum off-take requirement, or fixed cash commitment. Accordingly:

  • Volume commitment: not quantified in the public announcement.
  • Fleet coverage: no specific number of aircraft is defined; coverage is described by HPCL locations and Afcom’s operational network. [1]
  • Take-or-pay/minimum off-take: no such provision is mentioned in the announcement.
  • Low-demand cash-flow exposure: cannot be quantified. The public disclosure provides no basis to calculate a minimum fuel purchase or unavoidable payment obligation during periods of weak cargo demand.

The important caveat is that “IATA Model Terms” does not, by itself, establish whether Afcom must purchase a minimum quantity. Unless the executed agreement or its commercial schedules are disclosed, one cannot conclude that the contract is purely variable with actual uplift volumes—or that it imposes a take-or-pay obligation. The fuel agreement should therefore be viewed as supply-security infrastructure, while its downside cash-flow protection remains contractually unverified.

How does the duration and pricing structure of this HPCL agreement compare to the fuel procurement strategies of other domestic air cargo operators, and to what extent does this contract mitigate the volatility in Aviation Turbine Fuel (ATF) costs relative to the company's reported fuel expenses in the most recent fiscal year?

The HPCL arrangement currently looks more like a supply-security and procurement-coordination contract than a demonstrable ATF price hedge. It is described as a long-term agreement effective 1 September 2026, but the reported terms do not specify the expiry date, contracted volumes, escalation formula, or whether Afcom pays a fixed, formula-linked, or market-linked ATF price. [3] The agreement provides for Jet A-1 supply under IATA Model Terms and quality standards, but those terms do not by themselves establish a fixed fuel price. [2]

Duration and pricing comparison

The comparison with other domestic air cargo operators remains limited: no operator-specific contract duration, fixed-price formula, or hedging policy is reported for named cargo peers. The three-year fixed-price arrangement is therefore a broader domestic-airline benchmark, not evidence that cargo operators generally use that structure.

Relevance to Afcom’s fuel-cost volatility

Afcom reported FY26 aircraft fuel costs of Rs 116.6 Crores, up 922% year on year. Fuel represented approximately 26.82% of total expenses of Rs 434.6 Crores and 36.75% of direct expenses of Rs 317.2 Crores, calculated from the reported figures. [6]

The contract did not mitigate the FY26 reported expense: FY26 ended on 31 March 2026, whereas the HPCL agreement became effective only on 1 September 2026. Its financial impact can therefore only arise in the subsequent fiscal period.

The potential sensitivity is material. As a mechanical illustration, a 10% change applied to the FY26 fuel-cost base would equal approximately Rs 11.66 Crores, before accounting for changes in flying hours, aircraft mix, fuel consumption, airport mix or customer pass-through. [6] However, the HPCL agreement’s actual protection against that sensitivity cannot be quantified without its pricing formula and covered volume.

Assessment: the contract likely reduces supply-disruption, airport-coordination and spot-purchase risk, which is useful as Afcom expands its network. It does not yet establish meaningful protection against ATF price volatility. That conclusion would change only if the definitive agreement provides a fixed or capped price, a transparent benchmark formula, or a meaningful volume commitment. Even a fixed-price structure would stabilise cost rather than guarantee savings: the government’s own framework fixed Delhi ATF at Rs 115 per litre, above the earlier Rs 104.927 per litre market price. [4]

_Scope note: this comparison also included Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Ltd. (HINDPETRO), which the answer above does not cover. Ask about any of them for a full side-by-side._

DimensionAfcom–HPCL agreementBroader domestic airline benchmarkAnalytical implication
DurationDescribed as “long-term”; effective 1 September 2026; exact term not reported [3]Voluntary ATF stabilisation scheme allows price locking for up to three years [4]The HPCL agreement cannot yet be confirmed as a three-year price lock
Price structureNo fixed price, benchmark, escalation clause, or airport-wise pricing disclosed [3]Fixed FOB benchmark of Rs 86.32 per litre plus airport charges, oil-company margins and taxes; effective price reported at Rs 115 per litre in Delhi, Rs 114.5 in Mumbai and Rs 139 in Chennai [4]The government scheme is explicitly price-stabilising; Afcom’s reported contract is not yet demonstrably so
Procurement modelReported as a shift from localised or short-term spot purchases to a single HPCL supply framework [2]Participating airlines procure exclusively from OMCs for up to three years, under either a single-OMC or multi-OMC arrangement [5]Afcom gains supplier coordination and availability, but may have greater single-supplier concentration

Sources

  1. [1]Afcom Holdings Signs Long-Term Aviation Fuel Supply Agreement with HPCL2026-09-15T04:27:27.107000, p.2
  2. [2]Afcom Holdings Partners With HPCL For Steady Fuel Supply And Cargo Network GrowthSahi, 2026-09-15T00:00:00
  3. [3]Afcom signs long-term aviation fuel supply agreement with HPCL | Capital Market News - Business StandardBusiness Standard, 2026-09-15T00:00:00
  4. [4]ATF prices rise about 10% as oil companies roll out price stabilisation regime for 3 years | MintLivemint, 2026-06-10T00:00:00
  5. [5]Jet fuel prices to rise either way as govt replaces ATF cap with Fuel Stabilisation Support mechanismPsuwatch, 2026-06-04T00:00:00
  6. [6]AFCOM Holdings FY26 PAT rises 72.85% to ₹4,466.08 lakhsScanx, 2026-06-17T00:00:00

Keep digging

Does the agreement with HPCL stipulate specific credit terms or volume-based pricing discounts that differ from the spot-market procurement Afcom Holdings has utilized historically, and how do these terms impact the company's working capital cycle?

Ask Copilot
Logo

Unlock financial AI for your firm